We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
267
91
33
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
91
33
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barnooks and cranniesoliver cromwelljacuzzi and steam roomhistorical hoteldeluxe roomchewton glenoriginal buildingbar grillcoaching innchicken pielazy sundaymain restaurantcreaking floorboardspublic rooms arelarge bednespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

well,well,well... what a truly remarkable turnaround that was in just 12 months. This place has been on life support for some time, trading off its former glories and falling further and further behind the competition in terms of decor, furnishings and restaurant service. But enough of that. our weekend stay began with a lovely welcome and a quick tour of the newly refurbished rooms including the chic new cocktail bar and re-styled dining room.
our room was well lit where dinginess was formerly the order of the day. the bathroom was newly fitted out with a proper ceiling shower included, and the room now had ample sockets at desk height. the new heavy curtains kept the room dark and quiet at night. new carpetting everywhere was another nice touch. the bed was perfect.
the new cocktail bar did not disappoint. the new wine bar served italian cuisine from a confident chef. the new grill room was as impressive at night as it was at breakfast.
what made all this work was the small army of new young staff, mostly from down under. not only were they all unfailingly polite and friendly, but they all seemed genuinely happy in their work which is actually not that common. the atmosphere was just lovely. the restaurant manager also knew his job. the ever impressive concierge team now have competition for the first time in years. we could not have had a nicer stay.
this really is a charming old hotel in one of the prettiest villages in England. it also now has a modern feel to the food and drink.
the new management deserve an award for turning the place around. the challenge now is to keep standards at least as high as this over the years to come.
so welcome back, old friend. I look forward to spending a lot more time with you.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Biagio14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme N, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Biagio14, Thank you for your lovely kind words after your recent visit to see us following our major refurbishment. I am truly delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us and your kind words about our enthusiastic new team are very much appreciated and will of course be shared with the team.

We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this beautiful hotel.

The food is a touch expensive even for some one like me from Surrey......but you are in the centre of the rural idyllic English dream.

The Hotel has been revamped and looks stunning...it has lots of nooks and crannies to have a drink in and a cocktail bar and a main bar with sofas.

The staff working here are superb...helpful, smiling , knowledgable etc etc....and this made our stay really enjoyable....from the moment we arrived until we left nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel is in a great village with a few pubs and places to eat should you wish to wander.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme N, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Andy C, Thank you for your lovely words following your recent visit. I was delighted you found our refurbishment stunning and your kind words about our team members are truly appreciated and will of course be passed on.

We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

A fantastic hotel in a beautiful "Chocolate Box" village, with very good amenities and bedrooms. Perhaps one of the best we have stopped in. The rooms retain that old world charm, but at the same time comfortable and homely. The bed is extremely comfortable which related to an excellent nights sleep. The food is very good, both dinner, lunch and breakfast, but perhaps a little expensive when the service charge is included. But fully enjoyed the food espec ially breakfast. The staff are some of the most friendly and polite that I have encountered. From the moment you walk in, you are treated like royalty. SO WHY have I only given 4 stars. Perhaps a slightly selfish reason. We do enjoy sitting round a roaring fire with a glass (pint) of real ale. I personally do not drink wine, spirits or bottled beers. So I was extremely disappointed to find they do not sell draught beers, so I was stuck with soft drinks and water. The whole oldie world atmosphere lends itself to such craft beers. Unfortunatley we had to walk to nice public house in the village to spend the evening and have a beer. Please think about your policy and a lot of people will appreciate it

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alunewils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme N, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear alunewils0n, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read you were well looked after by our team and your kind words about service and our food quality are truly appreciated and will be shared with the team. Thank you for your comments on craft beers, this is something we are exploring.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Things we loved...

The hotel is a gorgeous period building with lovely lounge areas, open fires and nook and crannies. Very cosy!

They catered really well for our dog - a bed, treats and bowls in the room. The hotel felt positively pet friendly, compared to some places we've been that accept dogs but then don't allow them in communal areas etc.

The spa was lovely, very relaxing.

The surrounding area is really nice to explore.

What we didn't love..

Very expensive for what it is. We had a deluxe room and yet were in the new (read horrendous looking 60s block) of the hotel. Would have expected nicer touches for the extra money, e.g. a freestanding bath or living room area. The deluxe was what I’d expect the standard to be – not worth the extra money.

The food was also disappointing. We had lunch in the lounge which was average for the price. The breakfast selection was great! And so nice to have a la carte, however our poached eggs were stone cold. Cold runny egg is not a nice experience. Not a huge deal but again not what you’d expect for the price/standard the hotel pitches itself at.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Elliestone271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme N, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Elliestone271, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read you enjoyed our cosy lounges and open fires, and that your dog felt equally welcomed and at home. Thank you for your comments on your bedroom, I was sorry to read you did not find the wing you were allocated to your liking. Please do call us directly when next visiting as we have deluxe room types all across the estate and should your preference be a room in the main house we will do our very best to accommodate this for you.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Fantastic weekend getaway. Took my partner for her birthday. Nice touch with card and bottle of Champagne. Warm and comfy rooms, lovely ambience throughout the hotel. Absolutely stunning old features in the main section of the hotel, with many alcoves to relax at massive fireplaces sipping favourite drinks. Top class dining, fair prices. Amazing light hike on doorstep to Broadway Tower. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MCoetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme N, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear MCoetz, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit. I was delighted to read our team made your partner’s birthday a little bit more special with the bedroom gift. Your kind words about all aspects of your stay are truly appreciated and will of course be shared with the team.

We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews