We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy country cottage in the charming Cotswolds.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of April Cottage

Beautiful period cottage which is superbly furnished throughout and having garden to the rear
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful period cottage which is superbly furnished throughout and having garden to the rear
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Beautiful period cottage which is superbly furnished throughout and having garden to the rear
Sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Broadway, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amy T
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy country cottage in the charming Cotswolds.”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were a party of 6 including parents, grandparents, a baby and a toddler who stayed in the cottage for two nights while we visited family in the area.

April cottage was a wonderful place to stay as it was cosy, clean and tastefully decorated. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare a family meal and we enjoyed snuggling up in the sitting room to watch the Olympics in the evening. The satellite tv and wifi are great additions, especially for rainy days. We also enjoyed the traditional games which we found in the drawer in the coffee table.

Both bedrooms were nicely furnished with clean linens and towels. We found the king sized bed to be very comfortable but my parents said the double was a little harder without a mattress topper. The travel cot in the main bedroom was clean and the highchair provided was so new that we were the first to use it! Our toddler was a bit young to sleep downstairs alone but an older child could happily sleep on the day bed in the back room.

It was great to have an ensuite shower room and a main bathroom with 4 adults staying in the house. A bath tub is really helpful when bathing children.

The weather was a bit mixed when we stayed so we didn't have time to use the garden or roof terrace but both looked lovely.

This was our second visit to Broadway and the cottage is ideally located to walk down to the main road to find shops, a fantastic play park, restaurants and pubs and a small Ashmoleon museum gallery. It's easy to spend several hours just strolling around Broadway. For families with children we recommend the toy shop, Rikki Tikki, the old fashioned sweet shop and the playground. We also lunched at the Swan which has a children's menu.

The grandparents in our group had a child free day exploring nearby Chipping Campden and Hidcote gardens.

I believe this is the first season that April cottage has been let by its current owners and we think they have a gem of a property here and wish them good luck for the future. We'd happily stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy sitting room, well equipped kitchen, location
Liked least: We'd have liked more info on the house, checkout and how to work appliances.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Lovely review and thank you for taking the time. We look forward to having all of some of you to stay with us again.

Best regards

Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P
North Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay in April Cottage, Broadway”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have had an excellent stay in April Cottage. It is ideally situated just off the Main Street in Broadway and handy for exploring the surrounding Cotswold countryside and villages. The cottage itself is well maintained, very cosy and has all the required facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home feeling
Liked least: The garden could do with some TLC but didn't effect our enjoyable stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Great Thomas so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. All the best. Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveG257
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay ”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just had a long weekend in April cottage, it is very well equipped and very clean,the village of Broadway is well worth a visit , and a good central point to travel.
We could not have asked for anymore really,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at April Cottage and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green75
England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very pretty cottage in great location”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A lovely cottage in a very handy location close to Broadway high street. Ideal having two bathrooms. Fabulous kitchen and a lovely garden which would benefit from being tidied up and maintained. I would definitely recommend this cottage for anyone visiting Broadway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and yes the garden is our next project to make our lovely garden a beautiful garden. Hopefully you will come back to see it.

Best regards

Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyn w
1 review
“A gem of a cottage”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A beautiful cottage, well equipped and within walking distance to the village. Will definately be back but for a longer period next time...

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay.

Best regards

Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing