We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“New Barn”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of New Barn

A view of New Barn looking West.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of New Barn looking West.
Views of the meadow, River Ebble and Church beyond from the first floor bedroom. New Barn in Summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
A view of New Barn looking West.
Views of the meadow, River Ebble and Church beyond from the first floor bedroom.
New Barn in Summer
The main bedroom is downstairs.
Children love the bedroom in the loft.
Cherry trees in early Spring bloom
The fitted kitchen is fully equipped
The south facing sitting room is light and bright.
The bathroom is downstairs and has bath and a shower.
Inquisitive bullocks in our neighbours field.
Take a walk across the fields to the river
Walk, cycle or drive and enjoy the spectacular views of our Chalke Valley.
A visit to Bath is less than an hour away.
Beautiful Bath.
Visit our medieval City of Salisbury and the Cathedral. It's just 20 minutes away.
Walk, swim or explore our many beautiful beaches along the Jurassic Coast.
Our ancient monument, Stonehenge is less than 30 minutes away.
Visit us in the Spring
New buds in early March
Fine views at any time of year.
Be inspired-Stonehenge and Salisbury Plain.
A well equipped kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Salisbury, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
mrs susan...
1 review
“New Barn”
Reviewed 20 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Found location excellent. Central for where we wanted to visit . Cottage lovely . The only negative would be the towels not very big and bleach stained. No toiletries. But we had a lovely stay especially having a 2 year old granddaughter with us .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2018
We enjoyed having you to stay. Unfortunately you were given some old towels which we will ensure aren't used in the future. Thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel D
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wiltshire visit”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a lovely two night stay at new barn while visiting family in Salisbury. The accommodation was perfect for our needs as I had my elderly parents with me and the main bedroom and bathroom are on the ground floor which was perfect. The barn was clean, very well equipped, including a lovely food pack left for us, very thoughtful. The surroundings are beautiful and I can recommend a two minute walk to the local pub. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2017
Thank you Rachel. We enjoyed having you and your parents here and hope that next time it will be for longer.

Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishM92
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect ”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a weekend staying at New Barn. The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped. There were 4 adults and a 15 month old baby and the layout was perfect. There is no door on the upstairs bedroom but luckily our grandson is a deep sleeper so this wasn't an issue, we could still chat and play games downstairs. There are plenty of toys for children of all ages and had the weather been kinder to us, a large garden to play in. Emma and Henry the owners live next door, they were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The chocolate cake and bacon and eggs provided were a lovely touch.
I would recommend this cottage if you want a rural retreat in a quintessential English village that's not too far from main towns and attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
razorfiel...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nowhere to relax in evening”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This accommodation is annexed to the owner's house. Great location for Salisbury and Stonehenge.
One large bedroom and an open mezzanine area. Described as sleeping 5 but only suitable for 2 adults in the bedroom and children on the mezzanine. Unsuitable for 2 couples.
Lots of toys and dressing up clothes for the children which was greatly appreciated.
The flat itself was very clean and very well specified however there is no lounge. Consequently there is nowhere to kick back and relax in the evenings - this is a major limitation. We found ourselves going to bed at the same time as the children. Also there is no DVD player and the TV is very small.
Ensure you bring your own dishwasher tablets, loo roll, coffee pot and tea towels.
A note of caution: the water temperature in the shower is very difficult to adjust so don't let younger children use it unsupervised at risk of them getting scalded. Also there was no anti slip mat in the bath. I slipped; hit my head very hard and injured my arm. This needs to be remedied asap!
I won't mention the house flies, I'm sure you've remedied that by now

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Thank you for your feedback, its always appreciated. We are very sorry to hear you had some problems while staying in New Barn. Unfortunately we were on holiday during your stay and so we couldn't address the issues.

The upstairs bedroom is open plan and the two single beds are full size. We can provide a third folding bed on request. We regularly have families of four as well as two couples staying in the property but we accept the headroom is a bit limited in the upstairs loft space. Parents sometimes sleep upstairs and allow their children to sleep downstairs if they are concerned their children can't sleep.

New Barn doesn't have a separate sitting room. It has an open plan kitchen, dining area and sofa. We are happy for guests to bring the armchair and director's chair from the bedroom into this area or to relax in the large downstairs bedroom.

Guests often bring laptops and tablets and use the wifi. However, we will provide a dvd player and look into providing a larger TV.
We were sorry to hear that there were no dishwasher tablets, loo roll and tea towels. We normally provide a welcome pack of basics for all our guests and it's frustrating that these weren't present on your arrival.

We were very sorry to hear that you slipped and had an accident in the bath and found the water temperature difficult to control. We have replaced the anti-slip bath mat which seemed to have gone missing. We will investigate the water temperature control as soon as possible.

Thank you again for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing