We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gintastic!”

Myrtle Tavern, Meanwood
Ranked #7 of 2,129 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A country pub located in Meanwood, famous for its homemade Sunday roasts, small plates & bar bites, just a 10 minute drive from the city centre and 10 minutes from the countryside. With a fantastic drink selection, The Myrtle is a hidden gem, with lots of outdoor space, including a secret garden marquee, terrace to watch the sunset and a separate beer garden with children's play area.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is always a lovely, friendly atmosphere. The food is very tasty - small sharing plates make it fun when with a group and super value. The service is very good and prompt. Beer and gins served just right.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roxbys01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really nice surprise. I took my in-laws who have lived locally for 40 years and had never visited. They loved it! Delicious tasting dishes. Good service and fine decor.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tony2275
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The pub is characterised by ultra friendly service, very tasty food and by knowing the its importance in and for the community. Scott, Sheila and the team go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable and feel welcome. There is a good selection of beers and food, and honestly, nothing disappoints. I look forward to many visits and hope that the future treats the pub well. The tapas was great and highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank andrewmears8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely pub serving really great food. We had the 2x tapas, side and 2x cocktails for £20. All the food was delicious and great value for money.

The outside space is fab and has plenty of space between each table for those wanting to maintain social distancing.

My only complaint is that the baby change is in the ladies toilet - which is very old fashioned and really needs addressing.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 612beccae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott793, Owner at Myrtle Tavern, Meanwood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We just wanted to explain why the baby change is in the ladies. We have over the years explored many options of trying to get one in the gents toilets however due to the building been built in 1840, the configuration of the men's simply has no wall space to add one and the cubicle we have in there is too small for a commercial baby changing unit.

If a man wants to change the baby we do allow them to use the ladies facility and a member of staff waits outside to ensure nobody else goes in whilst you are in there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021

The pub is on the outskirts of Leeds in a lovely location by a cricket green, with lots of outdoor seating. The staff and their service were great and we had a really nice pub lunch there of various bites that are sort of Tapas portion sized and so can be ordered to share. Especially good were the Calamari, King Prawns and the chicken wings.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank I4748KXstevene
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Myrtle Tavern, Meanwood also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Myrtle Tavern, Meanwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.