We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,685)
Filter reviews
1,685 results
Traveller rating
620
585
282
138
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
585
282
138
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bath salts free glass of wine king size room sewing kit on arrival city centre bars and clubs train station free upgrade q park night life lovely hotel bit dated early hours would stay again checking in central leeds
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 1,685 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel looked so quirky, interesting, fancy and eye popping from the reception and waiting area. I thought wow! However.. Upon making our way to our room I felt a little queasy going up the stairs once we reached stairs leading up to the 2nd floor. The carpet went from a nice brown carpet to a horrible blue and turquoise carpet. It looked like they had ran out of the nice brown carpet and just settled for another!? Also the stylish quirkiness that we were welcomed to in the reception area vanished to a very dated hotel.

The room..

We stayed in room 210. All I can say to describe this room is “dated”. The only thing modern about the room was the TV!! The room had. weird smell to it, everything was very basic. The bathroom was even more dated! I wish I took photo’s to show. The mattress wasn’t the comfiest either. No air con, only a ceiling fan and I couldn’t even open the window therefore was rather warm most of the night.

We or shall we say our company only paid £56 for the night which considering everything I have mentioned above, was rather reasonable.

The staff were exceptional however! I cannot fault the customer service from the staff. I had dealt with 4 different members of staff from the evening and including morning and everyone was so welcoming and helpful. Had the staff not been so accommodating I would have possibly rated this hotel a 2.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank JJWilliams90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan Ho... G, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear JJWilliams90,

Thank you for your feedback, all feedback is taken on board. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms and corridors, but as you can imagine it is a gradual process which does take time and doesn't happen over night. Our 1st floor has been fully re-furnished all rooms and the corridors. Apologises that a new room wasn't allocated.

I am delighted that you found the staff to be exceptional and that you couldn't fault them.

Should you be visiting us again, if you contact the hotel direct to make the booking and a new room will be allocated if available.

Kind Regards

Vicki


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

A group of us (4 adults and 1 child) visited on Saturday (4th August) for afternoon tea as part of a Hen weekend and we couldn't fault it.
The staff were brilliant, they knew all about our dietary requirements and couldn't do enough for us. They were especially good with the child that was with us, making her feel included by offering a mocktail etc.
The restaurant area of the hotel was lovely and clean and the food was yummy. Great value for money, will definitely go back when next in Leeds

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank laura_889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan Ho... G, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

I am delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Vicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

My daughter and I stayed at the Cosmopolitan last week so we could shop for a couple of days. Perfectly located, five minutes walk from the station and the city centre.
Staff at hotel are lovely. We were allowed to check in early, room was fine. Very nice toiletries, thick bath robes and super-comfortable beds. Yes, rooms are a bit dated but all we wanted was a power shower and a good night's sleep....tick for both. The decor in the corridors is beautiful so maybe the rooms are next?
We returned from shopping to a fab complimentary glass of wine. Great night out in Leeds and a good breakfast the following morning.
Can't praise everyone at this hotel highly enough. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebsCarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan Ho... G, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am delighted that you had a great stay and found the hotel to be just what you needed.

We are in the process of gradually updating our rooms, contact us direct for your next visit and we shall try our best to allocate you one of our refurbished rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Vicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

We arrived with a warm welcome, a glass of wine! The room itself was adequate with all the amenities you could need, even a ceiling fan perfect for this weather. However the noise from the bar below (even with the windows shut) was difficult to ignore until 1.30am when it stopped!! Not recommended unless you are used to not sleeping till 1.30am! Perhaps an investment in sound reduction glazing would be advisable! Or contesting the licence of the bar below!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan Ho... G, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi Fiona,

Thank you for your feedback, sorry that the noise from the bar close by stopped you from sleeping. Being a vibrant city centre hotel we are in close proximity to a couple of bars that do stay open late. We do have rooms that are on the quite side of the building, if you should stay again, please request that a quiet room is allocated and we shall endeavour to allocate you one.

We look forward to welcoming back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Vicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Situated in the City Centre with a car park a few minutes away -discounted for hotel guests- the friendly and well informed staff welcomed us on our arrival
Breakfast was individually cooked with a fabulous selection on offer
Comfortable bed and room

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank philipmartin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitan Ho... G, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

I am pleased that our location was ideal for your trip to Leeds and that you enjoyed breakfast with us on your departure. It is great to hear that the staff were welcoming and gave such a great first impression of the hotel on arrival.

Please contact us directly for your next trip to Leeds on 01132 436454 and we will not only make sure you get the best available rate but make sure there is a bottle of wine in your room as a thank you from us for your kind review.

Kind Regards

Vicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews