We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
50 years on

The last time I came here it had only just opened but following recent trip to Hadrians wall had to... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
christel
,
Seaford, United Kingdom
via mobile
A fascinating visit

We enjoyed our visit here. We were glad to hear the talk and it helped us both to understand the... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
aeb67
,
Chichester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 840 reviews
  
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
478
290
55
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
290
55
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mosaic floors guided tour amazing mosaics introductory film tony robinson well worth a visit under cover housing estate short film behind the scenes small museum school parties hands on activities fascinating place school trip interesting visit information boards
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 840 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2018

The Romans left their mark on the Sussex coast and especially in Fishbourne where putting in water pipes was interrupted by finding real treasure in the same field where a new housing estate was planned: a Roman villa. The mosaic floors are displayed well and there is plenty of information posted with each area. The children can dress up and there are interesting talks on different aspects of Roman life and art. When you get hungry I can recommend the Bull, just down the main A259 from the villa. A good half day outing.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank lynnejames58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

Arrived by train. If arriving from Brighton ignore the sign at the end of the platform that sends you in the wrong direction. What you do is head down the ramp turn right go along the road and cross at the pedestrian crossing and turn left into Roman Way. If you follow what the sign says you cross the railway line and end up going round in a circle.
On approaching the Palace one is instantly aware that the very modern treatment of the site, is in its own right, now a piece of history. To cover an archaeological site in the way that was undertaken was remarkable for its time. It remains a safe sturdy means of preserving and offering the site to the public. It’s just a little worn around the edges. But it all works, a tribute to those that maintain its many parts. Of which there are many, not just the main hall.
As an archaeologist public lecturer and tutor I’m going to concentrate on presentation and facility.
On an academic note I do believe reexamination of finds against the latest dating techniques and further research into the interpretation of the pre Palace Roman site is of paramount importance. Enough said.
The museum needs most of its images replaced, they have lost their colour and details. A shame as the story is well told, allowing the visitor to understand the sequences. Space is being wasted and the lighting needs improving. I was dismayed to see no Braille or large print in evidence.
The indoor site. If you know what you are looking at. A multiphase site with complex reuse, then all’s well. I fear whilst the interpretations are useful further three dimensional modelling and the use of graphics would assist. I did note this was in use at one screen, providing a walkthrough. It would be useful to have more of the same at strategic points.
An app for smartphones might well assist.
Good imagination is required to contextualise the site.
The problem of displaying mosaics is very evident. They get dusty and frankly they are very dusty indeed. A wet cloth brings them up nicely, but no doubt curatorial edicts prevent this. A pity; floors are meant to be walked on or at least admired for what they are. Other museums manage this better. Take advice.
I noted a party of teenagers from Belgium were around the site as fast as possible, unless somebody explains the site in person it doesn’t grab the attention. More walk and talk tours required.
The large screen providing up dates on the site and the original dig details is excellent.
The staff are a friendly bunch; knowledgable and ultra keen to keep their bit of Sussex heritage afloat in stormy times. Well done them. No easy task.
External site. The hedges have grown in the forty years since my last visit. Apart from that little has changed. The information points are good. They do assist in placing the visitor within the Palace. The Roman garden works. The Roman gardener and his potting bench needs a spruce up. Grapes were in abundance. I noted a Friends of Fishbourne Palace. Glad to see voluntary effort keeping things going. Gardens and Palace outlines good. They do assist in the scale of the site.
Two hours is about right for a visit.
I do believe it’s imperative to explain the three dimensional jigsaw nature of the site. What matches which period; what would be where when. Not easy but not impossible with modern technology’s.
I recommend a visit. Visitors should be advised to put their thinking hats on. It’s worth the effort.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank CliffordArchaeology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely visit to the Roman Palace today with a very warm and helpful welcome. The palace was very interesting and educational. It was simple and well organised with a video prior to viewing the ruins. I’d highly recommend, especially for people with an interest in history! It was a pleasant surprise ☺️

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Fay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Went for a visit here with a friend. The remains are magnificent given their age and the property is well kept. The museum is informative and the guides very good indeed. The receptions staff were amazing and very friendly. Made us feel very welcome.
The only down side was the enormous amount of school parties when we arrived which were noisy and unruly and the cafe which could do with a face lift.
Highly recommend never the less. Well done Sussex Archeological Society.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank DDyer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Having visited this site when it first opened I was stunned at how much more detail was uncovered over the years. Truly a great place to visit to see the truly beautiful workmanship of the fishbourne palace mosaics.
Certainly somewhere to visit as it gives so much historical detail.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank tinaglover1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews