We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,515)
Filter reviews
3,517 results
Traveller rating
2,033
845
377
145
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,033
845
377
145
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews medieval banquet afternoon tea four poster bed feature room garden restaurant grand feature lady craven scones murder mystery spiral staircase country park nooks and crannies garden room roll top bath steeped in history finger sandwiches beautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,404 - 1,409 of 3,517 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We stayed at Coombe Abbey on Saturday 14th May 2016 as the last night of our Honeymoon. I wanted something really special and booked the Lady Craven Suite. What I got was even more amazing than I hoped. From the time we arrived at the impressive exterior, to the beautifully maintained courtyard. Then to the historic Reception with superbly friendly and helpful staff.

Then to the Lady Craven Suite itself. What a fantastic room with its high ceilings, ornate plasterwork, fantastic views and of course the amazing four posturer bed with steps leading up to it's raised dias.

We opted for the Mediavel Banquet and Romance package which meant Champagne, Chocolates and flowers in the room on arrival.

The Medieval Banquet was everything you'd expect. Great fun, Singing, and Bawdiness led by an excellent cast with plenty of audience members dressed up and up for a good time.

If you want something above and beyond for a really memorable stay I can't recommend Coombe Abbey highly enough. The perfect end to our dream honeymoon!

Room Tip: Lady Craven for wow factor and best views
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron T, General Manager at Coombe Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Good morning
Thank you for taking the opportunity of writing such a kind review following your recent stay here at Coombe Abbey for the last night of your honeymoon.
I was delighted to read that you appear to have been extremely happy with all aspects of your stay.
I very much look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you both back for a return visit at some point in the future.

Warmest regards

Ron Terry
General Manager
Coombe Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

My visit to this stunning hotel was for an awards ceremony and I have to say that it was a truly memorable evening. I'm not sure how much Coombe Abbey hotel contributed to the organisation, but they obviously set the tables, provided the food and the service and it was top notch. The dinner was excellent, the food arrived hot and beautifully presented and the waiters/waitresses worked tirelessly.

The hotel itself is stunning and impressive being, in parts, an old building dating back centuries. The grounds are extensive and much of it is given over to wildlife conservation. It is a beautiful and tranquil walk through the woods by the lakes. The interior of the hotel though, is very dimly lit with the corridors and the rooms in the older parts very gloomy. Our room was beautiful with a four poster bed overlooking the courtyard fountain. Breakfast was in a lovely bright and airy room and was traditional English with good variety. The one big downside of this hotel, is that there is no customer car park, visitors must park in the pay and display car park. Also, when I questioned this at reception, the lady there was very frosty, bordering on rude. However, I can overlook this in order to recommend this hotel as a one off experience.

Room Tip: If there are events on (which there frequently are) choose a room away from them
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank StantonJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron T, General Manager at Coombe Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Good morning & very many thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us following your recent stay here at Coombe Abbey.
I was delighted to read that you had a truly memorable evening at the Awards Ceremony that you attended.
I was also pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of the 500 acres of magnificent country park that surrounds the hotel.
Please accept my sincere apologies if my colleague on reception appeared a little frosty when you enquired about car parking, I can assure you that this will be discussed with our Reception Manager.

Kind regards

Ron Terry
General Manager
Coombe Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The service at this hotel was excellent. The food was excellent. The best way to describe the hotel is was stunning a bit like 'Harry Potters Hogworts' ! Huge with wooden carvings, open winding stairways and lussious drapery.
The bed room had a vey comfortable 4 poster bed.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron T, General Manager at Coombe Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Good morning
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay here at Coombe Abbey.
I was pleased to read that you appear to have had an enjoyable stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Ron Terry
General Manager
Coombe Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Visited the Hotel as part of a hen weekend on the 15th may this year. Took part in the medieval banquet on the Saturday night as well as the D Day tea on the Sunday. Both events were brilliant and very well done with lovely food and atmosphere. Had a great time, would definitely recommend. Lovely hotel and grounds.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank CassieG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron T, General Manager at Coombe Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2016

Good afternoon & very many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review following your recent weekend break here at Coombe Abbey.
I was delighted to hear that the hen party that you were with all appear to have had a thoroughly enjoyable time & thank you also for your comments regarding both the Mediaeval Banquet and Afternoon Tea with The D-Day Darlings that you attended during your stay.
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back at some point in the future.

Warmest regards

Ron Terry
General Manager
Coombe Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a work conference, it is absolutely stunning inside and out from the minute you walk through the main entrance.
The interior design is spot on and it is also pretty good in the external buildings, with a feeling of warm luxury.
However my room in one of these more modern blocks had an air con unit that could not be switched off. I found this incredibly strange that the hotel are fronting the cost for permanent air con units in rooms where guests can't turn them off even if they wanted to.
The noise of the air con disturbed my sleep all night, it was absolutely unnecessary to have it blasting out all night.
Colleagues of mine had similar problems and because of this, some of them were too hot or too cold.

The hotel should look into changing this ASAP - it would save them a lot of money on running costs and allow us customers to get a better sleep!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank ljc1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron T, General Manager at Coombe Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2016

Good afternoon & many thanks for writing such a constructive review following your recent stay here at Coombe Abbey.
Please accept my personal apologies for the unacceptable inconvenience that you were unfortunately caused by the air conditioning unit in your bedchamber, I can assure you that appropriate action is being taken to ensure future guests are not disturbed.
I sincerely hope that this will not deter you from returning at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Ron Terry
General Manager
Coombe Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews