We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
23
49
39
40
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
49
39
40
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paragon hotel chesterfield sofas red leather pride weekend new carpet i'd paid the rooms were nice short stay a short taxi ride these issues free car park tea making facilities overnight stop water pressure public areas german market room was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Room basic and comfortable. Reminded me of student accommodation. Dated in appearance and needs repainting. Marks on the walls and cracks on the ceiling. No expense spared on bedrooms and carpets. Room cold. Reminds me of a high end hostel. THE CAR PARK IS SHOCKING! broken into car on entrance all smashed in. Doesn’t look serviced or manned. Rubbish all over the floor in car park and broken glass on the floor from previous smashed in vehicle - not maintained. Hotel looks luxurious on photos and enticing. However it’s in a run down location. And the hotel is old and rundown. I almost drove home but stayed knowing I’d need to return to Birmingham the next day. Noisy outside traffic. Never again!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
4  Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

I was booked into this hotel by my admin department. Oh how they must have laughed. It’s situated in an industrial area which was littered with rubbish and undesirables. The secure parking is a run down, insecure old warehouse on an adjacent road. The area is full of rubbish and smashed glass from windows of cars
The reception area is spacious and clean. The lifts are unreliable. Intermittently working. The hotel is filthy, tired and old fashioned. It smells dirty and fusty. The first room I was given was tiny with a double bed squeezed into the space with a small table and tv. Completely inadequate. Brown hard carpet, curtains that didn’t shut and filthy Moldy windows. I complained and was moved to the room featured on their web page. Photographs are deceiving. The room was bigger with a metal 4 poster bed, a very old and worn leather two seater settee, a TV set in a hole in the wall, an old flat electric fire, a worn and tatty dressing table but no chair and a wardrobe. The bathroom was unclean, mildew everywhere. The curtains wouldn’t shut properly, they were dirty, the bed side lamps didn’t work and nor did the majority of the plug sockets. The bed was uncomfortable.
Breakfast was in a room which was soulless, cold and grim. Very little choice. Poor quality items. Very little taste. Awful
This place is in need of a major refurbishment. I will never return to this hotel

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
5  Thank Rustlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

I love a bargain but you have to draw the line somewhere.

£30 a night sounds amazing and being the cheapskate I am, I could forgive the mouldy, dirty windows and weird stains on the walls and ceilings. I could even forgive that you can't shower for longer than 2 minutes as the plug is blocked (don't want to think of what!) and floods the bathroom floor. Rubbish stroon all around the hotel, wardrobe door with broken hinge, shower door hanging off, bathroom door handle not completely attached to the door? as I said, cheapskate and not a problem to me.

But I do think where safety to yourself, partner and your belongings is a concideration, I certainly wouldn't recomend this place. The car park is free, but if you choose not to take my advice and a park your car there???? I didn't sleep all night worrying if my car would be there the next day. There was broken glass on the floor from where some other poor unfortunate had their window put through by some scumbag to steal their now 56 greatest hits cassette. To be fair, it wasn't just the car park, there were several pavements around the hotel which were covered in glass where cars had had their windows put through in the street.
The hotel was less than a mile from the venue we were visiting, but I certaily wouldn't walk it.
So yep it's cheap, but include additonal taxi fairs and the fact you won't sleep due to your car probably won't be there in the morning and the sound of toerags shouting out their evenings/mornings crimal conquests out to there mates in the street at 5AM??

You do the maths.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Rowton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

This refers to your review but as you do not include your full name or room number or booking reference it is impossible to establish that you actually stayed in this hotel, or not. However no room in the Rowton matches the description you have essayed.

The car park is not the hotel's park however we do have complimentary use for hotel guests by arrangement with its owner and the electronic shutters are closed and secured at night, which you do not mention.

You have also not mentioned if your car was there and safe when you checked it the next morning, but there have been no reports at all about any break ins or thefts of cars from this car park in the time frame to which you allude, hence we question the veracity of this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Friendly and helpful reception staff, and nicely fitted out downstairs areas. Room small, but clean and tidy with everything you need for an overnight stay. Handy location with car parking opposite (free) but also plenty of on road parking too. Very interesting old building. My only criticism was areas off plaster falling off the walls under the windows on the third floor. Just let the place down a bit. Other than that, I would say that for a short stay it was absolutely fine.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkersho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Rowton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Rowton Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and assure you that the areas of dried paint flaking off just under some windows on the 3rd floor has already been dealt with.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rowton the next time you visit Birmingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Just arrived. Didn’t expect the hotel to be in the middle of a council estate. I knew it was cheap but dear god! ... Anyway reception nice then we went upstairs. Omg what a dump! Whole building needs a refurd. Carpets worn and it just stinks everywhere. Decorating most have been done by a 3 year old. We have just left and booked else where. What a waste of money

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Rowton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

The hotel is located in the heart of Digbeth a short walk from the Digbeth High Street, not a council estate, but a combination of apartment blocks and industrial units, only a 10 minute walk to New Street and the Bullring.

The hotel has been refurbished recently, including carpets. Though is it not luxurious, it is however is a clean budget hotel with all the necessary modern amenities - all guest rooms have large flat screen TVs, tea / coffee making facilities, private attached bathrooms with towels and toiletries, all offered at competitive affordable rates.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews