We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$131
View deal
Booking.comUS$131
Hotels.comUS$131
PricelineUS$131
eDreamsUS$131
FindHotelUS$131
TravelocityUS$131
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,090)
Filter reviews
3,090 results
Traveller rating
1,116
1,028
541
241
164
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,116
1,028
541
241
164
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harvey nichols mailbox car park mini bar afternoon tea continental breakfast hotel bar club room standard room saturday night city centre bars and restaurants full english stayed for one night following morning broad street yogurt spa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 3,090 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2020

Well what can I say great from start to finish my first stay at Birmingham Mal. From check in with Danielle a very lovely lady carrying our cases, ensuring we had everything we needed as we were staying with a friend who was a wheelchair user. Danielle ensured we had our tables booked for dinner and this was also accessible for wheelchair use very spacious.
The room was luxury and very spacious,crisp white sheets, lovely hand soap and nice white towels. An extra quilt and pillows was brought to the room 10 minutes after being requested, very speedy service from housekeeping. Air con was good, we were on the 7 th floor it was very quiet so that was great.
The waiters/waitress’s were very pleasant I think it was Laura and also a lovely gentleman. Serving us quickly with drinks and taking our meal orders, serving with a smile. Which is always so nice we felt welcomed and content.
The guests around us were happy and it was a great atmosphere in the restaurant and bar While staff adhere to social distancing with good measures in place.
Breakfast this morning was nice with such lovely girls.Emma the general manager greeted me the next morning with another lovely smile. Danielle checked us out ensuring we’d enjoyed our stay.
Infection control was in all areas and rooms providing safety for guests and staff.
Thank you all staff at Mal your working extremely hard in such difficult and unknown times, be proud of yourselves that your serving your guests very well and working as one big team.
Thank you again for making our stay special I look forward to my next one.

Room tip: Very accessible to wheelchair users.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G4902EInatalies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian Goom, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2020

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent visit to the hotel, it was a pleasure to host you and fills me with great pride to see that the team really delivered on great service to you on your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon

Regards Emma & The team @ Mal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2020 via mobile

Great hotel, really enjoyed our stay. The staff are friendly and professional. Our room was spotlessly clean, modern and a great size.
Really impressed. Great location to enjoy Birmingham, it’s ideally situated to enjoy the whole city centre, most places are within easy walking distance.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RickT345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian Goom, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2020

Dear RickT345

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel with us and fellow customers, I am so pleased that the team delivered on great customer service to you and that you found the environment safe and Clean.

We hope that we are now your 1st Choice when you visit Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you again soon

Regards Emma & The team @ Mal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2020 via mobile

Have been to this hotel many times, but this was our first visit to any hotel since Lockdown, so arrived with trepidation. Not to worry, the staff were supremely professional, from the reception,to the bar and restaurant management. Liked the video at reception on procedures, very informative.Shock to see the room so bare of accessories,but this is how it has to be. Everything spotless. Had booked the meal package so arrived in bar early for drinks, seated and promptly waited on. Same in restaurant, everything very slick, polite and professional, we felt completely at ease. All staff in masks and visors. The breakfast system was brilliant too. I would give this 7 stars if i could because this was a fantastic, relaxing stay with excellent food and staff. Will be back as soon as!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank travellalot011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian Goom, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2020

Dear Travellalot011

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay, it fills us all with great confidence when we receive such feedback in relation to our procedures following re opening.

We too agree with your comments regarding the bedrooms but we hope that this is short term and the Mal effect will be back in our bedrooms very soon.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon

Regards Emma & The Team @ Mal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2020

This was a perfect stay! Everything was great! The beds were comfortable and we were made to feel welcome by the reception team. I would definitely stay here again. Close enough to local bars and restaurants too! Thanks

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kimmie1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian Goom, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2020

Dear Kimmie1991

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay its great to see that you enjoyed your visit to us.

We hope to welcome you again very soon

Regards Emma & The team @ Mal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2020 via mobile

I stayed here last night for a mid week ‘date night’ and was truly impressed by the customer service of all staff I encountered, especially Sarah. I dealt with her upon enquiring about staying and also on check in. She was so welcoming and attentive, thank you!

We heard the restaurant was busy with people taking up the mid week government offer so decided on room service. It arrived within 30min and was very tasty. The portion sizes are far bigger than I anticipated!

We stayed in a club room (I think that’s what it’s called) very spacious, big bathroom, robes, slippers, coffee machine, snacks & bottled water, along with dinner and a cocktail all for £125!!!! UNBELIEVABLE value!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 957lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian Goom, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2020

Dear 957lewis,

We are all so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the offers we have great value.

I will be sure to pass on your comments to Sarah and the reception team they are all working so hard to ensure you all have a great experience when you visit.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again very soon

Regards Emma & The Team @ Mal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews