We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
185
49
23
8
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
185
49
23
8
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub self catering local pub ann hathaway's cottage breakfast table full english breakfast beautiful place to stay nice pub shakespeare country stratford town centre hen party yogurt minutes walk away short drive breakfast was amazing long weekend ample parking
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Place was beautiful, modern (and yet very tastefully decorated/furnished); facilities top notch (an entire kitchen for example, with absolutely all facilities, and a very comfy, separate lounge). Bed was enormous (it's made me want to get a larger bed myself now!). Didn't visit Anne Hathaway's cottage in the end but it's very close by indeed. Local pub (The Bell Inn) also very close - not too busy, not too quiet - great food. Stratford town a very short drive away, very handy. Staff extremely helpful and pleasant, breakfasts plentiful and very nice. I could rattle on and on. Would definitely stay there again, loved it. Best place we've stayed in a long time

Room Tip: Great location
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _creakyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Our stay at Church Farm Barn was an absolute delight. The room was modern, comfortable and clean, as was the bathroom. The breakfast was excellent. The location was very convenient - quiet but close to one of the main attractions as well as to the Bell bar and grill for excellent food. The staff were friendly and efficient, as well as very accommodating when we had a special request. Everything about our stay was fantastic and I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaco E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We booked here for a family Christmas and when we arrived we were very impressed. We were allowed to check in early in order to receive a shopping delivery and there was wine, chocolates and a Christmas tree supplied.

However, on the first evening we opened the drop down oven door and it crashed to the floor breaking the outer glass. We reported this to one of the housekeepers the following morning and we thought that she had agreed with us that it was not our fault as the door should have stopped once it was horizontal. As it was over the Christmas holiday it couldn't be repaired/replaced so we struggled for the rest of the week , including cooking a Christmas lunch with an oven door that had to be held open by one person whilst another used it and one that spewed remaining broken glass every time it was opened.

We accepted this which in hindsight was maybe a bad idea as at the end of our stay I had an email stating that our £250.00 housekeeping deposit was to be retained until the oven had been repaired and that I would be sent 3 quotes.

I replied saying that in no way was it our fault but they would not accept this claiming that either one of us had put our knee through the door or had deliberately forced the door to the ground.

After many emails and my threats to take them to the small claims court I finally had to accept a compromise of losing £100.00 of our deposit as it would have been their word against our's in court.

We had read some reviews that had said that the owners/managers were awful to deal with and only wanted to get the maximum money out of every booking but we thought it could not have been that bad. How wrong we were

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrishillier22016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordSunshine, Manager at Church Farm Barns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Dear Mr Hillier,

Your review does not come as a surprise as this was one of the tools used for a blackmail threat for not paying any cost of the damage.
Lets have the full story..........SUBJECT -the oven - brand - Miele. The Housekeeper handed over the property at arrival. The Oven was i working order, in one piece and you did check on the functioning as you had a Christmas dinner to cook.
On the day of arrival, you used it fine. On the second day/night the door crashed on the floor thus breaking the outer glass, as reported the following morning by your daughter- in her words , " we had a small accident". It was Christmas period, thus the engineer could not come out. But, the oven was functioning and you did enjoy your Christmas Turkey and all the dinners cooked for 1 week.
You were informed of the Repairs Technician's report who had access to the pictures of the broken glass door as well as the subject live. You were emailed a copy of the same, which explicitly said that the glass had broken because of mishandling or negligent use.
" Likely someone had hit the door with their knee/ leg to shut the door". This was the expert's opinion.
The repairs cots bill was also emailed to you of £389 including VAT.
You were requested to contribute 50% towards the repairs. To which there a lot of hue and cry and blackmail threats, which is clearly reflected by you writing this review.
As a matter of principle, £100 was deducted of the damage deposit and the balance was reimbursed back to you.
And to reflect on the management- let’s put it this way- it’s not a loose management and surely does not appeal to all.

Just a passing thought- your review has not fazed us as a team......we believe...YOU CAN CUT ALL THE FLOWERS, BUT YOU CANNOT KEEP SPRING FROM COMING.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

The whole of church barn farms has a lovely feel to it, which you pick up on as soon as you pull into the drive. The room we stayed in was spacious, as was the ensuite. We were made to feel welcome from the very start. As for the breakfast in the morning, can't begin to describe what was laid on for us, and the quality of the service outstanding. A real wonderful touch was ourhost introduced all the fellow guest to one another, a special personal touch showed they had gone out of their way to get to know their guests. Highly recommended, will definitely stay again on our next visit to the area.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good, ours was particularly private.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ABayston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

I chose Church Farm Barns for a one night stop-over because it was by far the most convenient place from which to walk to relations nearby, but I will return because of the friendly reception and the good night's sleep I enjoyed in an exceptionally comfortable and quiet bedroom.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank morphy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews