We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KENNET4
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 11 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We stayed here recently with our children can’t praise it enough
Was everything I wanted it to be and more, we loved everything about Braunston from the mill where we stayed which is fantastic to the village and the people who live there.
We will definitely be returning in the future
Finally a word about sandie the owner lovely lady who helped make my sons birthday special by organising balloons to be there upon our arrival
Special place special holiday loved it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for your great review , i am just so pleased you loved The Windmill and the village . It was so nice to meet you all on this Birthday occasion . It was a pleasure to help make it special , and yes it would be lovely to see you all again in the future . Thank you for my cards , they are on display in the Mill and the drawn picture of the Mill was lovely .

Sandie :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_jennie_b...
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
“40th birthday”
Reviewed 28 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The mill was lovely place and the owners have spent a lot of money making it look nice, the beds were comfortable and they were clean.

The stairs take your breath away if your unfit but there are lovely views once you get up there.

There is lovely local pub which serves a really good Sunday lunch and the staff are friendly.

But the jet spa bath couldn’t be used properly as the water wasn’t hot enough to fill the bath and enjoy, and when jets were pressed a lot of black came from the jets, so it needs cleaning.

The owners have the water set on timer and you are asked not to touch this.

There are rule books and you feel like you dare not touch anything. No flexibility for late check out, it’s a complete no.

The washer/dryer was out of order and only one large towel was left for each of the six guests.

There was no free white wine left as promised.

The hot tub was warm but wouldnt turn on, We were very disappointed about this as that was our whole point of booking this property.

We did enjoy our stay, but it wasn’t 100% perfect because of the above issues.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2018
Thank you for your review . I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay .
The water in the Windmill is set to constant all day , it has been set at 58 degrees , when six people are using the shower /bath one after the other the water will have to reheat so sometimes when the bath is used the water will not come out as hot as when the first person had used it . I had filled the bath in the week and cleaned all the jets and it was running clear .
There is no rule book there is instruction /guidance to help our guest on departure. We follow what other holiday lets/companies expect, that the property is left clean and tidy and all rubbish removed .
Our check out time on a Friday and Monday like all other holiday lets / companies is 10.00am , this gives us time to change it around for our next guest .
The hot tub as in our T&C is an added extra and sometime its beyond our control if the hot tub becomes faulty or out of use .
We tried our best to rectify the problem straight away after we received our guest phone call and had someone attend it and reset it.
I have running this business now for many years and we have had no other complaints about towels etc . We leave one extra large bath sheet, and a hand towel for every guest , this is enough for a short weekend break .
The washing machine was out of order as we were waiting for the PAT test to make sure it was safe for our guest to use.This is compliant with our insurance .
I am really sorry about the bottle of wine this was missed of the table in error , i would have arranged for a bottle to have been delivered if i had known before our guest departing.
Again i am pleased you enjoyed your stay and giving me 4 bubbles

Sandie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicky C
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A magical, unique experience!”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Wow wow wow! what an amazing holiday stay :)

people often say "it was like a home from home" When I go away I don't want it to be like my home (or I'd stay there :)) and The Mill sure is spectacular!

Amazing unique property with superb facilities, finished to a high spec and the views ... stunning!

Highlights:seating area downstairs ideal for reading
beautiful and well equipped kitchen/diner on 1st floor
Stunning lounge with HUGE plasma TV
Bedrooms are stylish, comfortable and well equipped
idyllic bathroom with rainfall shower and spa bath
Hot tub .... we didn't use but looked brilliant.

And the village of Braunston is superb in itself and only a stone's throw from Leamington Spa and many other cities.

We enjoyed canal walks, the local shop and a cosy afternoon in the Plough.

Sandie is attentive but unobtrusive. Can't recommend this property highly enough and at a great price too :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
Thank you Nicky for your brilliant review , i am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Windmill and found everything up to your expectations .
Hopefully will see you both again in the future .
Sandie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve c
1 review
“An amazing experience”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Having recently returned from 4 wonderful days at the mill I thought it right to share my thoughts
Totally mind blowing place
Very well decorated to a high standard
Would recommend to anyone needing a treat
Me and my partner thought it was very beautiful place,relaxed and peaceful
Everything you may need during your stay is there full you to use
Lovely area with very friendly local people
Great local pubs with very nice food to enjoy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your review , i am so pleased you enjoyed staying at our Windmill and you felt relaxed and happy . hopefully we may see you again in the future .

Sandie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny R
1 review
“Beautifully different”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My girlfriend and I booked the Mill for 3 nights Friday to Monday, as somewhere different to stay. The Mill is beautifully equipped and the perfect getaway to spend a romantic break - it's far too nice to just use as a base to explore the surrounding areas.

We arrived in Braunston very early on the Friday and had a lovely lunch at the Old Plough prior to checking in. As a couple we found out that the £100 discount is for use of one bedroom only, and as much as the four poster room at the very top of the Mill was perfect, I think next time we would choose the bigger room on the floor below - just because of the stairs!! :)

The first full day we visited Warick which was half an hour away, and returned to the Mill and ordered a takeaway from the Chinese recommended by the owners. A lovely evening was spent in the main, huge living room.

On our final full day, we tried the Gongoozlers barge for breakfast which again is recommended, and was entirely different to anything we've been to. Eating breakfast whilst watching swans and ducks swim up to the glass right next to you was lovely. In the evening we took advantage of the amazing kitchen and dining area, which was beautifully laid our for our arrival.

The outside hot-tub was perfect to unwind in also.

We only had to speak to the owners on arrival and departure but did feel if we needed anything they were only a phone call away.

We couldn't find a single thing to be even remotely critical of. Any negative reviews I had read on here beforehand, about signs or rules or whatnot, are completely unwarranted. The place was perfect and we both thoroughly enjoyed spending time here.

We would love to come back again, but not without trying the cottage next door first!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for a your review . We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Windmill and felt that it came up to your expectations .
We would always welcome you back and yes the cottage is superb as well . Sandie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing