We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantasic! A beautiful cottage in a glorious...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
View from the hot tub
View from cottage
Cottage garden
view from cottage
The girls out in the garden with the Colonnel
The comfortable Chaise long.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jonathan...
1 review
“Fantasic! A beautiful cottage in a glorious setting.”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Warm and gracious hosts, you will want for nothing in this lovely old cottage with every modern amenity. Great, great, great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burning fires, the hot tub, the sauna, the decor, coffee machine……….
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malcysbab...
Cleveland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely fabulous, didn't want to leave !!”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Love it, love it, love it!! What an absolutely perfect little haven. Cottage is decorated throughout to a very high standard, however, for us it was the attention to detail that put the cherry on the cake. On arrival we were met by the very welcoming owners Joanne and Gordon who proceeded to give us a guided tour. The cottage was spotlessly clean, lovely sized living area, kichen was very well equipped like home from home, also what a fantastic welcome basket which was greatly appreciated, homemade scones, cream, jam, butter, sandwiches, quiche and rocky road bake which was amazing not forgetting the bottle of wine also!! The bedroom is fantastic, yet again its the little quirky signs, tea lights and love hearts hanging all around the cottage that make it a lovely romantic retreat ♥. As if all that wasn't enough there is a massive hot tub that you are allowed the use of. I can't emphasise enough just how magical it is sitting in a hot tub in the dark and I mean its dark, watching stars shoot across the sky, for us, utterly breathtaking!! So, all in all I can honestly say that it is the best cottage we've ever been in, and we've stayed in quite a few. Planning our next visit already. Happy days :-D thank you again to Joanne and Gordon (eggs for breakfast in the morning) haha

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mungbean4...
Peterborough, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This cottage is an absolute gem!”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This cottage is everything you could want in a holiday home - everything is provided, from spotless fluffy towels and bedlinen to a delicious welcome hamper and bottle of wine in the fridge, even a printed weather forecast for the days of our stay! The cottage is cosy and warm, with central heating and an open fire, and the views are spectacular. We took our two dogs with us and the enclosed garden is ideal. Mr and Mrs Moore provide exceptional customer service to their guests and are very welcoming and friendly. We will definitely be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We struggled, and failed, to find a negative. This cottage is superb.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacalia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at petty knowes in January and it was everything we could have hoped for! The accommodation was perfect as was our welcome. Being able to sit in the hot tub at midnight watching shooting stars was an amazing experience. We can't wait to go back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jop123201...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic weekend at Petty Knowes :) Pure Relaxation!!!!!!!! Joanne and Gordon have thought of everything for their beautiful cottage and were very friendly on our arrival, they made us feel so at home. The cottage is very comfy and cosy, we were soooooo relaxed here :) so relaxed we didnt even wanna leave, not even for food lol, especially with the log fires in the front room and bedroom, also there is a hot tub in the garden which was fab and the views from there were stunning!!!! We would love to stay here again and are already thinking about booking up for October :)))))) We would highly recommend this cottage for a beautiful, relaxing break away :)))))))

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!!
Liked least: Nothing!!!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing