We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,569)
Filter reviews
2,570 results
Traveller rating
1,646
686
187
37
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,646
686
187
37
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the marco pierre white restaurant complimentary mini bar balcony room aveda toiletries mpw restaurant crisps assembly rooms kit kat rainfall shower bottle of prosecco city centre car park lovely hotel train station front of house reception staff walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 2,570 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Overall the hotel was brilliant: great location, literally a 5-minute walk from the metro and Grey Street. They have fantastic staff on the desk and in the bar. The room was lovely and large, clean with lots of storage space, and a free mini fridge with soft drinks.

The only downside (and this is more to help others pre-empt) was the bed was very hard; so if you like a softer bed just ask for a mattress topper in advance (we also added an additional duvet to sleep atop) - the staff sorted this out really quickly and were very understanding.

We didn’t have any food in the hotel however did have a few drinks in the bar which was comfortable.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank malcomthird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo and for taking the time to leave a great review. I will pass on your kind words to the reception and bar teams as I am sure they will appreciate it. I am sorry that the bed did not suit your preferences however I am glad we were able to resolve the issue swiftly and in future we will be able to prepare the bed for you in advance. We hope to see you again soon.
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

This hotel was part of a city break with National Holidays. Couldn’t fault the place, room spacious & spotlessy clean, my son was over the moon had sky sports in the room a real bonus. There was complimentary drinks, toiletries & fluffy bathrobes. Staff very friendly, luggage storage room if needed. Breakfast was hot & cold buffet lots of choice & again staff lovely especially Kate who showed us to our table. Central location, would stay again. Really impressed as sometimes when staying on these coach holidays can often get dated rooms & not always welcomed in such a friendly manner.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank sjs_foss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your journey with National Holidays. I am so pleased to hear you were warmly welcomed by the team and we hope you will choose us again when you are next in the North East.
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

We have stayed in a number of Indigo's and this was up to the usual high quality if not better !
From the moment we checked in we were made to feel very welcome.
Our room was not ready so out luggage was stored and we were able to park in the car park at the side of the hotel so our car felt secure.
We went up to our room after check in and the staff had left a small gift for my wife's birthday which was appreciated.
The bed was very comfortable and the shower very good.
The room was clean and the mini fridge appreciated.
The room decoration was very stylish too.
The only slight downside is that even though we were on the third floor we could hear the party goers going home at 4 in the morning but then we were young once !
Breakfast both days was excellent and the choice and quality very good as was the service both days.
Checkout was smooth and we will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Andy,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the special occasion and I hope your wife enjoyed her birthday. I am glad to hear you liked your room. I apologise that you were disturbed by other party hard guests, we do have regular floor walks to try and keep noise to a minimum however I am sorry they interrupted your sleep. We hope to see you again soon.
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

We booked this hotel through our IHG app - it was without complications. Quick and easy check in, parking is right behind the hotel.
Rooms were clean and well equipped. It has a great location for the centre of town, perhaps not so for the quayside. It was red hot the weekend we were there so it was nice to have a drink in the bar with the doors open. Breakfast was good and served attentively.
We would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Jayne,
Thank you for choosing us and for your continued loyalty to IHG. I am glad you got to enjoy the sunshine and we hope to see you again again soon.
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Having just stayed at the Hotel Indigo York, we were excited about stopping at this Hotel Indigo. What a disappointment. The "king" size bed was not a king size bed. The rug and throw blankets were stained and dirty. The bed linens were uncomfortable. The towel bar fell out of the wall. Overall, our biggest complaint was false advertising. A king room should be a king room. When we called the front desk they mentioned others had also complained about the small bed, but claimed an outside source did their advertising. So disappointed. But, the breakfast was good and they have great shampoo.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KCave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I would like to apologise for the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay, I will raise your comments with the housekeeping manager so that we can improve moving forward. In regards to the beds all of are our beds are hypnos king size. If you require a larger bed we do have some 'superking' beds available where we can zip two twin beds together to suit your preferences.
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews