We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Majestic symbol of Newcastle

Always symbolic of the Town . Worth a visit and Geordies fond reminder they are home after their... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
AlanC700
,
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
via mobile
My favourite bridge in Newcastle

A really nice bridge to walk and drive over it. In the summer kittiwakes nest on the Tyne bridge... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Bibcay
via mobile
Read all 939 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Newcastle upon Tyne
from US$9.00
More Info
from US$32.10
More Info
from US$32.10
More Info
from US$89.80
More Info
Reviews (939)
Filter reviews
939 results
Traveller rating
578
292
59
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
292
59
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews iconic landmark the great north run quayside area visit newcastle gateshead tyne symbol engineering kittiwakes structure nesting sage angle linking toon riverside cars
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 939 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018

No visit to Newcastle can avoid seeing The Tyne Bridge. It is visible best from the riverside. Finished in 1928, it was designed by the same team who built the Forth Bridge in Scotland.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Roland D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

A great piece of architecture the Tyne bridge is definitely worth a visit.

I walked across it on a bitingly cold November morning, definitely glad of a good fleece jacket, hat and gloves.

The view was spectacular.

It gets dark earlier up North and we walked the bridge again just after 6:30pm and we were treated to a totally different experience . It was still super cold but the view with all of the lights was spectacular.

My camera had become too cold and wouldn't work which was a great shame because I could have taken some magnificent photo's. Still. it's an excuse to visit again.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank nickwarrilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Just so beautiful to walk underneath or have a walk on top what a view. It's defently something to come back to maybe next year went on day trip by coach with a friend and would defently return some day it's fab and very safe I didn't feel afraid of any muggings or pick pockets plenty of shops near by and places to eat and drink

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank F2632RHlisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

I am not one who really likes heights but I did walk over the Tyne Bridge, I was scared as I glanced over the edge but wow what a view! At night with all the coloured lights it is a spectaculour sight, you can't miss this bridge it really is a must see in Newcastle.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank yesitsme4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

It was interesting to see this mini version of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Did the Sydney Harbour Bridge Climb a while ago, which was an awesome experience. Seeing this bridge brought back some lovely memories.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank stargazer385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews