We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jesmond Dene House(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Caledonian Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hanson Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hedgefield House Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$110
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Northumbria Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,144)
Filter reviews
1,144 results
Traveller rating
382
430
218
84
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
430
218
84
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungechats barrace coursesteam roomleisure clubleisure facilitiesbus stopcity centrepublic areaspleasant staysaturday nightroom was spotlessstandard roombuffet stylecar parkfollowing morningmember of staff
Filter
Updating list...
631 - 636 of 1,144 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2014

We said we would not return after our last visit, but decided to give it another try. This time the staff really made an effort and allocated us the quiet room we asked for. The reception was much more organised and focused on customers, and overall it was a good stay. The breakfast staff moved tables to accommodated the party of twelve we were with, and tea and coffee arrived quickly, and the breakfast was good. We did have a fly invasion in the room, but so did other guests, as soon as you got the little blighters out of the window they made their way back. But I think the weather may have been the cause for this and at this time of year they were too idle to annoy that much and stayed behind the curtains. Apart from that the room was clean and tidy and just what you needed for a decent nights sleep. I really like the downstairs entry and its design, lovely to have a relax in. We didn't have time for a swim but others loved the leisure centre. Well done for the improvements. We will go back again

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as there are often groups for weddings and hen/stag nights stopping over.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MagBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

We were grateful that you decided to return and that all previous elements of disappointment met your expectation on this occasion. I would assure you that customer care is our number one priority and your experience on this visit is certainly the standard to which we aspire. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014

Booked the Gosforth Park at the end of our holiday in Northumberland so that I could go and watch the Magpies against Hull. Requested an early check in which I was pleased to receive. Efficient and Friendly check-in and check-out. Room very clean, spacious and comfortable. Meal in the Bar was excellent, choice of Ales not very good. Overall an enjoyable visit

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GavinH1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

We were very grateful to receive your feedback on all elements of your stay with us and hope to be of service to you again. Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Yes the hotel is part of a big chain, is large and could be impersonal, BUT every member of staff we met there wanted our event to be special and went the extra mile to make sure it was! From the day we turned up without arrangement and were given a guided tour of the facilities to when we checked out, it exceeded our expectations. We held a 70th birthday lunch for 28 people, they went out of their way to give us the menu our birthday celebrant wanted. It was delicious and well served by the team on duty. We stayed two nights and had the inclusive deal with breakfast and evening meal. Again, well served and excellent choice of menus. The hotel is situated outside the town centre of Newcastle, but within easy access to both the town or as a base to explore Northumberland. It has all the leisure facilities you would expect from a large hotel, including beauty and hairdressing facilities. Two of our party had a manicure and were made to feel very welcome and relaxed. Feedback for the Marriott chain management - we were there with a wheelchair user and your disabled access room is barely that. Yes there was a handle next to the toilet, but that was it! You need to spend some money and revamp these rooms, lower the sinks, and make them accessible from a wheelchair, raise the height of the toilet and more handles!
Thank you Helen and everyone who made Normans 70th birthday very special. Too many names to mention, you know who you are.

Room Tip: If the hotel has large events on, ask for a room overlooking the leisure facilities.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordiegirl7150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Thank you for choosing the Gosforth Park for your family event. We were delighted to be of service to you and are so grateful to learn that everyone enjoyed the occasion and their stay with us. We are due to commence a bedroom refurbishment early next year and your comments with regard to the bedroom with special requirements, will certainly be taken into consideration. Thank you for taking the time to comment and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

We had a great 2 night stay at the Marriott.
It was all you would expect from a 4 star Hotel.
Excellent breakfast and leisure club.
All hotel staff were very helpful.
Never had a evening meal in the Hotel but there is a village inn pub across the road which we had a good meal in both nights.
We will book again next time we are in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice_davison, Executive Personal Assistant at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Thank you for your very positive comments. It is our intention to have all guests leave the hotel fully satisfied with their stay and it is always rewarding to learn that we have been able to achieve this. We look forward to your reurn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2014

Stayed here many times over the years but it is now past it's best when you want single occupancy but ask for a double bed staff not interested (when occupancy only 25%)at £115 night they need to get their act together,as better value in the city centre, breakfast hot food just left on display when well past it's best eggs look disgusting, so went out in the evenings to eat
The staff are pleasant but seem to be just obeying orders

Stayed: October 2014
Thank ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin H, Manager at Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2014

Dear Ian

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.

I will address your concerns with my team immediately and assure you your comments will be investigated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews