We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveller rating
310
219
54
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
219
54
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast classic king osborne road west jesmond metro station boiled eggs no lift city centre rainfall shower lovely hotel bar next door four poster bed superior room car park large tv mini fridge bars and restaurants lovely bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 599 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We were staying here as a couple and looking for a quiet sleep to be woken up by loud unruly guests at 3am. Having had a bad nights sleep, In the morning when we tried to check out we were accused of being the ones causing the noise by the man at reception who said someone had reported our room. Denying this, he continued to be accusatory. He said if it wasn't us making the noise, then we should have reported it to the night porter. If the night reporter was doing their job and investigating the noise complaint, they would have discovered 5-6 loud drunks in the corridor, not a sober couple who had been in bed since 11pm. Whilst the rooms are clean and modern, the pillows are uncomfortable and this isn't the first time I have been woken up in this hotel by drunk guests in this hotel. The gentleman who checked us into the hotel 2 days prior was very helpful, but unfortunately we found the man at check out very rude.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

The location was perfect: Tesco, Waitrose, Boots are just a minute away from the hotel. The Metro station was about 10 minutes walking; and the city center was just 2 stops after. It was a very quite area, I had a good night sleep.

The breakfast was okay.

I think, the only downside was this hotel didn't have any lift. We brought three big suitcases and two small ones, and it was quite an exercise for us to get to the second level :)

Room Tip: No lift. So, just be prepared :)
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Be very careful booking with this hotel. I initially booked through booking.com but rang the hotel to confirm if they could put an extra bed for my youngest daughter in one of the rooms. They couldn’t, but guaranteed that I wouldn’t be charged and that they would cancel the rooms with booking.com
This failed to happen and I have been charged a ‘no show’ - full amount that would have been charged had I stayed there. Very upset about the whole thing. Why don’t people on reception get trained properly?

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank judeherlihy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Modern colourful room with everything you need. Reception area is bright and staff very welcoming. 30 min walk to city centre or £5 for a taxi. Would recommend. Lots of shops nearby and bars and restaurants in abundance

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lornanicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Be aware that many of the hotel rooms sit above the hotel bar and music can be heard through the floorboards until 11pm. Then you can hear many people chatting outside the hotel drinking and more so when the bar closes late until 12am. If your in Newcastle to stay out late then this might not effect you as much.

Only continental breakfast and limited selection.

Windows have poor sound proofing. The front rooms are next to a main road and traffic signal point so beeping can be heard each time pedestrians can cross. Disappointing stay as the hotel looked good in the images and overall rating from reviews were above 4, so thought it would be fine. Not good choice if you want to sleep and relax.

Clean bathroom and room with modern decor and blackout curtains.

In addition, If you block another guests car in the carpark you may get rang early to move it if other guest wants to leave. So avoid parking on outside in carpark if you want a lay in.

I won’t stay again, unfortunetly.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank SarahPearce33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews