We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Boozy Lunch”
Review of The Anchor

The Anchor
Ranked #9 of 94 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$38
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a traditional quayside pub boasting old world charm, a roaring fire, dark wooden and flagstone floors. A warm welcome awaits you.We produce all our food freshly on the premises, sourcing as much of our ingredients as locally as possible. We are happy to cater for large groups to individuals, bespoke menus on request.We serve a selection of Greene King cask ales and have been awarded the Cask Marque for their qualaity and are members of The Greene King Head Brewers Club, a collection of superior Greene King cask ale pubs chosen by their Head Brewer John Bexon.
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

Met up with a friend for a very long lunch at the lovely pub. We began with Sri Lankan crab cakes which were rich and delicious. We then had the beef pie and the local slow cooked pork. The pie was a proper pie with a bottom, lid and sides-fantastic. We then shared the cheese board and had desserts. A couple of bottles of wine and 4 pints each later we departed. A nice four hour lunch. The service was brilliant also. We will definitely return.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank tomski2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2021

Stopped at the Anchor for lunch. Excellent beer (Tribute). Teh menu had some intersting dishes - we just had starters which were fine and filling.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2021

We had a lovely Sunday lunch the food was very good .I had the burger and my husband had the pork belly we both couldn’t fault it.We had a gift voucher for The Table from xmas 2019 but due to covid where unable to use it .We had booked a couple of times but then went into lockdown .Luckily we were able to use it today and so glad we did .Thanks to the Anchor for honouring the voucher .Will definitely be back

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank amandac19742016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020

Fantastic food staff are very good service was excellent. You have to book and have a time slot but didn’t feel rushed. We had a 2 year old and 6 year old made to feel very welcome.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank JaneSouthendonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2020 via mobile

Went for evening meal. Had starter and mains for 2. Thai chicken curry was tasty, tables were a bit too close together though and no one way system to the toilet and back, is passing people on the stairs.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank tracymurty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchor also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Bromeswell, Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.