We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Curlew Cottage

The vaulted ceiling of this large room (open plan with the kitchen) adds to the feeling of space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The vaulted ceiling of this large room (open plan with the kitchen) adds to the feeling of space
The sitting room looks out onto the vast landscaped enclosed courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The vaulted ceiling of this large room (open plan with the kitchen) adds to the feeling of space
The sitting room looks out onto the vast landscaped enclosed courtyard
view to the other half of the courtyard where the laundry and games room are located
cattle in the field to the barns
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew M
1 review
“Perfect family cottage”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were really impressed with Curlew Cottage, the photos didn't do it justice. Beautiful place in a gorgeous countryside setting (peacock waking you up at 5am possibly a small drawback!), our two girls loved it and the secure gated yard meant they could run around in complete safety. 15 mins out of Bury where there is lots to see and do, loads of restaurants, good market on Thursday and Saturday. Only wish we could have stayed longer to get further afield. Thank you to the owners, a really beautiful rental property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for your review. We are very conveniently placed for Bury St Edmunds and we're so pleased you enjoyed the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faye A
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Festive break”
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We visited Curlew Cottage for our anniversary. It is a cosy and comfortable converted barn with lovely touches such as a welcome tray and festive decorations. The facilities are of a high standard and we had more than what we needed for a short break, eating in every night at the farmhouse table. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable-the 4 poster bed added a touch of luxury. Emma, the host was friendly and helpful and the tranquil, quiet location was the icing on the cake. Would definitely recommend for a romantic or even a family break away, Bury St Edmunds and Cambridge are easily accessible and there are some lovely villages to drive through en route.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
I'm glad you enjoyed the four poster bed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynettecl...
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The barns are in a ideal location ,the cottage was superb and very tastefully done , we were made very welcome and would totally recommend a visit . Thank you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa L
2 reviews
“cosy with a quality finish”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was our second stay at this property and we were not disappointed. The cottage is beautiful with great quality fixtures and fittings. There is really nothing negative to say, the cottage has a lovely homely feel with an abundance of games and books to use along with the well appointed games room which is great for the whole family. Its the perfect place to relax and get away from it all. Saying that, there is lots to do in the area, we enjoyed a trip to Thetford forest, Ely and Bury St Edmunds. We would highly recommend this property - you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you for such a positive review. We're pleased that you enjoyed the games and books as well as the games room. It's so nice that you chose to return to this cottage for a second time. Best wishes from us all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing