We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
13
16
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
16
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice pubsingle roomrolling stonestea and coffeenext morningroom was cleanhigh streetkarllandladyquizadnamsbeatlesaccommodationtvseaside
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2017

I stayed in the single room for 2 nights. It is very small - including the en-suite shower room the total floor space is less than 4 times the size of the single bed - but if you want value for money I doubt you can do better, because this amazing town attracts a lot of visitors and there is limited accommodation. The room was modern and clean, with TV, tea and coffee and basic toiletries provided. It was very hot weather but there was a portable fan provided too. I was able to use the pub's free wi-fi in my room most of the time. Breakfast was very good. You can't park right outside, but you should find a space within a minute or two's walk. It's a 10 minute walk to the seaside and high street, and access into the building is convenient if you come back late. I felt very welcome and I would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

We came to this pub for the first time this evening. What a surprising evening! Friendly, lively, great crowd, the Karaoke was super fun. Definitely a place to recommend. Beer is well kept and staff helpful and friendly. ...in ten years of owning a place here I ask myself, why didn't I come before? We will return. Fab!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MikeyLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirley b, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments.
We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards
Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

We called into this pub whilst visiting Aldeburgh. It wasn't very impressive compared to other pubs that we visited locally and they served a very poor pint of Adnams Broadside. Although this was the nearest pub to our accommodation, we weren't tempted to go back.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank multiplexor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirley b, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Hello
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to our lovely pub.
Do wish you had told us about the broadside- we would have dealt with your complaint immediately.
Regards
Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Very friendly folk and a good pint. Real locals pub. Cribbage. Quizes. Dartboard. Pool table. Juke box (free on Thursdays!). Well kept Adnams ales. Probably a very lively place on a Friday or Saturday night. We where there on a Thursday! Pretty quiet, just us and the crib players plus one or two locals.

They don't serve food though, so you'll need to go into town but that's only a half a mile stroll down to the seafront where there's plenty to choose from.

Accommodation looked to be recently renovated and was clean and comfortable with everything you could need.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainBovril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

Only reviewing the pub as never stayed in the accommodations of the Railway inn. Very nice pub with a great selection of ales, lberta and spirits. Very nice bar staff and very nice atmosphere. Pool table and Jude box makes this pub a very nice place to come and have a drink with friends

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Gino K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews