We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views over the Staffordshire countryside”

The Barn at Lichfield
Ranked #45 of 171 Restaurants in Lichfield
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Such a lovely place for drinks, cocktails or a light lunch or a full 3 course evening meal. Particularly enjoy the gorgeous views of the countryside. Also has an outside decking area for summer time meals/drinks

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank AnnieAries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy L, Manager at The Barn at Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi Annie,

Thank you for this review, we love our view at work every day! Glad you enjoyed it too, see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018

We found the Barn by chance when looking on the internet for somewhere to eat near Lichfield. What a find! The food was really excellent, fresh, well-cooked, tasty and plentiful. I had fish and chips, but nothing like your average chippy meal. Lovely fish in, I think, salt and pepper batter, delicious home made tartar sauce, chips that were crisp on the outside and soft on the inside, and pea purée. Really tasty. Companions had roast beef with Yorkshire pudding, mash, roasts and buttered veg, and Tandoori fish with Bombay sweet potatoes and greens. Desserts were hot ginger cake with toffee sauce and creamy cheese cake. Every dish was spot-on, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the premises are really nicely decorated, with wooden furniture, wooden frame mirrors, wicker baskets, etc. Reasonably priced for the quality of food as well. Very pleased to have found it and will definitely go again, 5*

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank BurtonTrekkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy L, Manager at The Barn at Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi!

Thank you for such a lovely review, we are so happy to see you enjoyed yourselves, see you again soon! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Having read some poor reviews prior to our visit I have to admit I was not looking forward to eating at The Barn, however, this dread soon turned into delight.
We were there for a celebration so there was a mix of adults and children. Our drinks order was taken quickly and we settled down to study the menu-not huge, but enough and our surroundings-rustic and contemporary.
We did have quite a wait for the starters, but they were all delicious-the garlic bread with cheese and the spring rolls went down particularly well. The kids were well catered for and all had empty plates.
The mains were great too, I had the lamb shank-superb, as I'm reliably informed was the tandoori cod and the chicken, the food was hot and well presented. We were all too full for a pud, although I did think they were expensive at around £6.
All in all it was a lovely evening and not too busy for a Saturday, good service, good food, don't believe the bad reviews.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank JaneP2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy L, Manager at The Barn at Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi Jane!

Thanks for you honest and lovely review! We have a new dessert menu and although the prices are not cheap the desserts are expertly made using amazing ingredients so we do hope you give in to temptation next time!
Our food is all cooked fresh to order and we are happy that you appreciate that, we are trying to work on our wait times however by expanding our kitchen team!
We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed the food and had a good time on a special occasion, please spread the word and we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Walked in and stood at the bar for 10 minutes, had to ask a member of staff for a drink as they kept walking past.
Not one member of staff looked happy.
Finally got served, the guy started to make the cocktail then a young woman who worked there made him go and send other drinks upstairs leaving ours a further 10 minutes.
We asked what was happening, she bluntly said he's upstairs delivering drinks and carried on with what she was doing. She had awful customer service, no apologies.
If a restaurant just hasnt got the time to handle cocktails then they should simply remove them from the menu.

We walked out after a disastrous 25 minutes.
Will not be returning.

Date of visit: April 2018
5  Thank Bellaclaire1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy L, Manager at The Barn at Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi Claire,

Please accept our sincere apologies for this incident. The barn is currently going through some major changes to it's team and training and we hope you do come back and give us another chance, Many thanks, Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Went for a surprise birthday meal and had the room upstairs which overlooked the countryside . Beautiful place with beautiful decor,food and very helpful and friendly staff. We will definately be returning . Two male staff members who looked after us were very helpful and a credit to the company.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank phillyralfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy L, Owner at The Barn at Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Phillyralfy,

Thank you for your kind review, we always strive to meet the highest standards in all areas of the business and so glad you enjoyed the service and had a good time for a surprise birthday meal.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barn at Lichfield also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Barn at Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing