We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely family weekend birthday celebration”
other travellers have booked this property
Detached stone country cottage with oak porch and gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Detached stone country cottage with oak porch and gate
Lounge with inglenook fireplace incorporating a log burning stove Open plan lounge
and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Detached stone country cottage with oak porch and gate
Lounge with inglenook fireplace incorporating a log burning stove
Open plan lounge
and dining area
Double sofa bed in lounge
En-suite bathroom to bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 with en-suite
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Lounge patio doors overlooking countryside
Ample parking for 3 cars
Why not join us for the festive season?
Kitchen with gas hob and electric oven
Kitchen with gas hob and electric oven
Kitchen with may cookery books if you fancy a new dish
Main bathroom with bath and electric shower over
Main bathroom
Bedroom 3 the bunk room
Bedroom 3 looking into the hallwsy
Staircase from the main hallway
Staircase from the dining area
The front porch from the car park
Trip Advisors Certificate of Excellence awarded for 2018 for the second successive year
Benvenuto attraverso il vecchio portico di quercia
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
C S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely family weekend birthday celebration”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

5 adults and 3 children had a fabulous time in this upside down cottage which the children loved! Thanks must go to both Linda and Pauline who went out of their way to be as accommodating as possible, including putting on some heating to take the ' chill off the air' prior to our arrival. The weather was great so the children loved being able to go outside in a small but safe environment. Only pity was that we could only stay for a weekend. Looking forward to going back in the future. Thanks again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness and hospitality of the owner and the manager, and character of the cottage.
Liked least: The dining area is confined for 8 people.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely comments and knowing how important this weekend was to you all we are so pleased you had a good time. It was lovely to actually speak to you and I enjoyed our chat prior to your stay. It would be lovely to be able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohsen S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“comfortable cottage in pretty rural setting unsuitable for children or a short stay”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed for three nights with our daughter and three grandchildren. The cottage was small but comfortable. The kitchen adequate but rather rudimentary with a tiny fridge. Bedrooms with lots of storage but little space to move. Small garden with lots of broken toys but with a lovely view over the fields. Few issues are worth commenting. Vacating time is 10 am and is non-negotiable – we tried. What with the 4 pm clock-out time short stays become rather expensive. Secondly you have to cross the A36 to get to the Red Lion, the wonderful Mill-at-Rode and the nearest shop in Rode. With a queue of cars coming at speed in both directions round a blind bend over a hill, paying little attention to the reddened road surface and slow down signs, it was a truly scary experience crossing with three small children. Try the Mill-at-Rode if you go – excellent, generous and not too dear.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Beautiful countryside
Liked least: Crossing A36 on foot
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Thank you for your comments and once again I apologise for being unable to allow you to check out later than 10am but as we explained we did need to prepare the cottage for our next guests. On the plus side you were able to negotiate getting into the cottage two hours early on your first day. I am sorry that you found the fridge inadequate but it is a standard sized. Sometimes the road can be busy as it is the main route to Bath but as no one else has commented on this I assume that they didn't experience too many difficulties.
I do hope you enjoyed your stay despite your difficulties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenaPat...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I booked this cottage as a place to celebrate a friend's birthday, and was therefore a bit concerned about whether she'd like it on arrival - I shouldn't have worried, she and everyone else loved it! (I felt very smug being congratulated on my good choice.) It was much brighter and lighter in reality than I think the photos suggest, seeming a little more modern and airier than I expected, especially from some of the other reviews. The living area upstairs was a perfect place to sit and chat until the wee hours, especially with the sofa bed pulled out for maximum comfort, and there's a lovely breakfast table that we could all sit round and eat pancakes on Sunday morning. The bathrooms are lovely too - one room has an ensuite with a bath and shower attachment, but there's a separate bathroom with a proper stand-up shower, and despite there being 7 of us we didn't have any problems regarding hot water! Overall the cottage has such beautiful character, with the wooden beams and the gorgeous beds, that I'm not sure how anyone could fail to resist its charms.

Everything was set up perfectly for our arrival, and although we didn't meet anyone either on check-in or check-out (keys were left for us, and then we put them in the box) it was all really clearly explained and we didn't have any issues with finding linen, using the shower, cooking in the kitchen... any of those usual things that can be a bit of an issue. Also, I left a necklace and the owner kindly had it posted back to me, so I'm not sure how much more helpful you can be!

Regarding location, it was very easy to find by car and quite convenient regarding Bath and other local places - we had a bit of an issue finding a taxi company willing to take us into Bath on Saturday night (but then, there were 7 of us) and eventually got one for £40 each way, which wasn't too bad. Bath itself is beautiful and has a surprising number of lovely, underground cocktail places - quite a find! We spent the Sunday at Longleat, which was only about 15 minutes away by car, and had a wonderful time there despite the rain, though it was good to come back to such a cosy place and relax afterwards.

Overall we had an excellent time in Woolverton and all have very fond memories of staying at the cottage. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large living room, which was a wonderful mix of cosy yet spacious.
Liked least: The kitchen was a little small with an electric hob and not a huge variety of utensils, but considering it's a traditional, cottage property that's pretty understandable!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for that comment Helena. It is very important to us that guests are comfortable and enjoy their visit. I was quite envious at the chatting til the early hours. That is what life is about!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
839kate
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

went on a weekend trip with 7 friends to celebrate my birthday, and the cottage is wonderful. Very quaint, the pictures don't do it justice. Looks out onto the countryside and there is a BBQ and is very close to Bath and a walk behind the Red Lion Pub which will take you to The Mill which is lovely for a drink.

Would definitely come again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage scoring a whopping 10/10 on the cozy-o-meter. Well located for access to Bath, Frome, Glastonbury, and the 24 hour service station just down the road.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
Thank you for your lovely review I am so pleased it was the chill place you needed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing