We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place for a large group get together”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Admirals House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
emom57
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a large group get together”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I organised a hen do in bath and booked the Admiral's house for our group. The house was really fantastic and suited our needs well. The location is very central and it was very easy to walk into the centre. I was worried the house might be a bit cold in February but it was lovely and warm. Lee the housekeeper was also very friendly. 

There were 12 of us in the end and the dining room and living space worked well for this number but It might have been a bit of a squeeze with additional people.  There were originally meant to be 14 of us and Im not sure we would have got everyone around the table. Some of the reviews suggested that the furnishings/carpet weren't as advertised. It is fair to say that the hall carpets weren't 100% pristine but personally this wasn't a problem and actually made it a bit easier to relax with a large group. 

As a tip for any other hen do organisers, one of the Makery studios is less than a 5 minute walk from the house and makes for a great activity. We also used Dish of the Day and the Secret Tea party to cater an evening  meal and afternoon tea. Both were really fantastic. 

I would love to return again one day. 

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very 'Downton Abbey' weekend!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Such a beautiful house! Like stepping back in time - the place is decorated with stunning antique furniture. We particularly loved the Downton Abbey door bell.

Bright, clean and spacious rooms. There are 2 kitchens which was great as we prepared a massive dinner on the first night and ate like royalty in the gorgeous dining room! This is a a magnificent building with lots of style and character! To date it is the best place I have stayed and will most defiantly be returning and recommending to my friends!

The booking process was easy and Cara is a delight to communicate with. All in all, a fantastic experience!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Downton Abbey door bell
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah T
Wem, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped, well maintained and oodles of character - we have never stayed in a house quite like it!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed at the Admirals House for two nights during the first week in January and had a superb time. Booking the house with Cara was smooth and Lee the housekeeper was very friendly - she even offered to pop the local shop to buy a few bits and pieces for us as we arrived later than expected! The high chair and cot were already assembled for us, which was one less thing to think about! The designated parking space was a short walk away, but we found it easy enough to load and unload from the side street, and with two children, we don't travel light! We had no problem with bathrooms or kitchens (there are two!) which were all cleaned to a high standard. Bath was lovely and within easy walking (and pushchair) distance from the house. We hope to go back again soon as there is too much to see in bath in just two days!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durian402...
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Parking, Playground, Plumbing”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This house is fine, if rented for the purpose of a large group getting together. It did not suit our purposes at all, The previous reviewer is correct in saying that the pictures do not reflect the condition or quality of the furnishings, or the cleanliness of the carpet.
In addition, it is not revealed until the rental contract is signed that the parking place is totally inconvenient for loading and unloading, and is not close to the house. The only way to pack the car, or to pick up a healthy 84 year old, is to park on a road behind the house. This brings up the worst unreported detail of thehouse... We were informed that guests are not permitted to use the more convenient back door because it opens onto a paved, fenced area that is leased to a nursery school. The school opens at 7 am, immediately outside the windows of the Admiral's House. The paved area between them serves as the playground for the school, with mats, etc hanging on the Admiral's House railings, inches below the bedroom windows. I have photos of the area in juxtapositon to the bedrooms. The gate to the road on the other side of the playground is locked. Because of my 84 year old father, we were able to get permission to open it in order to load the car, even though this meant disrupting the playgroups outside our door. (The entrance side of the house is totally unsuitable and dangerous for loading.)

I can see that this could be a good choice of lodging for a large group who needed a clean, safe place to sleep, but it was not for us. It would have been helpful to have known that we needed to bring soap for the bath. Any reviews that say the photos do not do The Admiral's House justice, and mean that in a positive way, did not see what we saw and did not smell the damp, fishy smell that we smelled. After reading the last review, I believe that what we smelled the previous month was a broken toilet. None of us would even pause downstairs, ithe odor was so bad. However the housekeeper said she could not smell anything and that there had been no recent flooding or water damage.
I reported our dissatisfaction to the owner in a timely manner but never got a reply. Prior to this, all arrangements had been prompt and very helpful. It gives me no pleasure to write a harsh review, but someone needs to provide an accurate description of the negative factors that have quite an impact on the overall experience, if any time at all is spent inside.
On a positive note, it is a lovely walk to the Roman Baths, with a Cath Kidston and a Waitrose along the way, as well as many very good restaurants, all wtihin 5 minutes walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The noise of the nursery school. It sounds as if the smell might have been corrected with the repairs to the downstairs bath.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2014
This booking was for 4 people for a 2 night mid-week stay. To book the property all guests receive our terms and conditions and welcome pack which has our address, location and parking facilities for a city centre property. We do not take any payment until guests have received these documents. Our caretaker Lee meets guests at the property and helps with any unloading either through the front or back entrance to the property. We do not advertise or claim that the property has disabled access but we have had guests whom in their party have mobility issues and have said that the property worked well for them. As per our Visit Britain 4* grading we have an access statement on our website, in the guest information file at the house and is available electronically if requested.
The house is decorated throughout with antiques keeping in the tone of the listed building and the unique quality of the house. There has been no plumbing issues in the house historical or present. We had a malfunctioning shower in December which was replaced immediately and is now fully functioning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing