We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveller rating
723
283
44
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
723
283
44
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house bus stop family room city centre park and ride bus service off road parking warm welcome breakfast was excellent honesty bar main road a great place to stay comfortable beds breakfast menu one night stay double bed top floor
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2018

I can't say enough how much I enjoyed staying at the Aquae Sulis. It first started with an email to Sanjoy when I couldn't book via the internet. He took my reservation and answered any and all questions I had. After traveling from Los Angeles to London, then a bus ride to Bath, and another bus to the hotel...I was met with ease as my late arrival was addressed by Sanjoy. The room was clean, warm and yes, not the Ritz, but homey and inviting. I had a relaxing hot shower, hot cup of tea and a restful night sleep on a comfortable bed. I know some complained about the pitched ceiling, but, its a pitch ceiling...I did not find that a problem. The next morning I had a lovely breakfast that came with the room...the staff was kind and considerate. I would stay again in a heartbeat. I stayed in room 13!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gailfears1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjoy R, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear Gail

Your review was like a breath of fresh air after a couple of difficult ones !!
Many thanks for taking the time to pen down these kind words for us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly pass on your compliments to the staff.

We strive to ensure our guests have a memorable experience when they stay with us.Once again, thank you as it is only through such feedback that we are able to constantly improve our products and services. We do hope that we get the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquae Sulis in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards,
Sanjoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Enjoyed our time there. Location good for public transportation. Cabs were reasonable to get into Bath. Room was nice and clean. Breakfast was good, but they needed more staff. Servers seemed hassled. Would recommend.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjoy R, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear Cathi

Thank you for taking the time to pen down this review for us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us apart from your impression on the staff issue.There are days when breakfast time gets hectic due to a number of guests arriving at the same time - our apologies. However, we are glad to know you enjoyed the breakfast.

We strive to ensure our guests have a memorable experience when they stay with us. We do hope that we get the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquae Sulis in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards,
Sanjoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Me and my mother stayed over for a few nights, it was good location due to public transport being easily accessed: getting into main bath but there were a few things that needed to be improved.
The lady on reception was inviting and the cleaner who I spoke to was lovely, there is lots of parking (free) and the room was a good size decorated amazingly, bathroom was good as well!
The first day: breakfast said it served decaf coffee but there was none available to be served even though there were sachets in the rooms. On the second morning we asked again and still none but we took the sachets from the room, so asked for hot water- making our own drink. After consuming this she then asked if we wanted another as she could grab a sachet to make one up- why weren’t we offered this the first morning? Slight laziness!
The size of the breakfast was okey for me but wasn’t huge portions, restocking of glasses and bowls need to be kept up with!
The main thing we weren’t happy about was the lack of heating on the second night, none when we got back to the room and none in the morning, it was freezing!
The toilet paper also had some mould on it, probably from storage.
For the price of the room we would have liked a little more hospitality, especially from the manager at breakfast along with heating!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Tabzzeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjoy R, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear Guest
Whilst we thank you for taking the time to write this review for us, we are extremely disappointed and apologetic to note your breakfast experience and the discomfort faced with the room temperature.
The staff has been apprised of the coffee and re stocking issue to ensure that it is not repeated. As for the portions, we do not have any limitations on the quantities ordered/served and hence guests are welcome to re order or request for more of anything from the menu.
We are definitely surprised to hear about the heating issue as our boiler is on "Auto" mode, 24x7. That would translate to operating 6 hours continuously with a 15 minute break and then again for another 6 hours. We would have surely helped you if you had rung the emergency number kept in all rooms. In the meanwhile, please accept our sincere apologies.
Please let us know if you plan to visit Bath, again, in the near future. We hope to correct your impression of the last stay with us.
Kind regards,
Sanjoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Very welcoming staff on arrival, Explained electronic key system for room and main front door. Good off road parking. Lovely comfortable room with all usual facilities. Room had a high ceiling and large widows making it feel airy and spacious yet still warm and cozy. Nice lounge and 'Honesty bar' where you record what you've taken (didn't use this as we were dining out with family but probably will in future).
Excellent choice of breakfasts and great service. Our first visit - Would definitely return and recommend to others.

Room tip: Ground floor room very convenient for dining room and reception.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjoy R, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear Eldoon

Thank you for taking the time to pen down these kind words for us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly pass on your compliments to the staff.

We strive to ensure our guests have a memorable experience when they stay with us.Once again, thank you as it is only through such feedback that we are able to constantly improve our products and services. We do hope that we get the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquae Sulis in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards,
Sanjoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

A lovely guest house which is very clean, well organised and excellent value for money. A good breakfast indeed. Sadly due to the weather, we had to cut short our stay and the proprietor was as helpful as he could be. Would fully recommend this guest house for short stays in Bath with parking! The short bus journey to the centre costs just over £4.00 return - (as many times in a day as you like).

Room tip: We were on the ground floor room 1 close to reception. Ideal if you have mobility issues and suited us fine.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MikeHenryThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjoy R, Owner at Aquae Sulis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear MikeHenryThomas,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay at Aquae Sulis and giving us a fantastic rating. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us . I will certainly pass on your compliments to the teams.

We strive to ensure our guests have a memorable experience when they stay with us.Once again, thank you as it is only through such feedback that we are able to constantly improve our products and services. I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquae Sulis in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards,
Sanjoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews