We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house”
other travellers have booked this property
Dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room
Dining Table Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Dining room
Dining Table
Kitchen
View to the rear
2nd Floor Bedroom 1
Lounge
3rd Floor Bedroom 2
Bathroom second floor
View to the front
Bathroom third floor
3rd Floor Bedroom 1
Entrance Hall
3rd Floor Bedroom 3
2nd Floor Bedroom 2
View to the rear
Bedroom Basement 1
Basement Breakfast / Reception
Basement Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maria W
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely house ”
Reviewed 8 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I stayed here with family and friends for a week at the end of November. This is a beautiful house with lots of character. The kitchen was extremely well equipped. Dining room brilliant for entertaining. All bedrooms spacious. House is in good condition and clean. Met housekeeper on our first day, lovely lady I had a few questions over the week she was always happy to help. It was a cold week but the house was so warm and inviting. It is about 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of the city depending really on how fast you walk. There is one down side to the property and that is the parking, Bath itself is not easy to park at all. So there is a long stay I think called Charlotte Street now you can buy a ticket for 12 hours, however, this means a early walk to move your car this cost £8 although you can get a week permit for this car park, however the council offices were you obtain the permit closes for the weekend at 4.30 on a Friday. I parked in a secure multi storey car park called Southgate car park this is £14 for 24 hours. There is one space at the back of the house. This would not stop me from staying here again, I would just try and research the parking situation before I arrived. Bath is a wonderful place to visit and Merchants house made the stay even more special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ideal for large groups”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a hen party over the weekend. The house is ideally set up for large groups and is about 15 to 20 minutes walk from the centre of Bath. The beds were really comfortable and the bathroom facilities were good, although one of the toilets didn't have a lock on it. Occasionally there didn't appear to be any hot water and the gas hob didn't always seem to want to work. If you are coming as a large group I would recommend coming in as few cars as possible as there is only 1 allocated space at the back of the house and although there are parking spaces at the front, there is no guarantee you will get a space, we ended up parking almost a mile away. The house is on several floors and anyone who struggles with stairs would find it difficult. There is plenty of crockery cutlery and pots and pans for cooking (although no wooden spoon...). This review is a bit mixed but I wanted to be able to give people a good idea of facilities when considering this venue depending on guest's needs etc. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
38StevieB
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“My hen weekend stay!!”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Well what a fantastic house to stay in! Extremely pleased with the house as soon as we got there. It was my hen weekend and 14 of us stayed there.
Was greeted by the lovely housekeeper Jeanette who showed us around the house and left us the keys.
The house was clean and tidy with more than enough space for all of us. Very quirky in places!
Such a lovely location too and close to the city centre made shopping and going out a lovely experience.
I would recommend staying here to anyone. Hopefully I will be back to stay again one day!
Many thanks.
Felicity :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha R
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a large group”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were a large group on a Hen party and we absolutely loved this house. It was very comfortable and had very large entertainment areas. The bedrooms were pretty and all very clean. Great location as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dining and living rooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing weekend in this fantastic house, felt very comfortable and at ease. Location perfect, beds comfortable and the key holder was very friendly and accommodating, even went to the effort of posting something back we had left behind. Highly recommend for large group.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing