We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,610)
Filter reviews
1,610 results
Traveller rating
652
590
243
86
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
652
590
243
86
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart barski barallium restaurantroman bathsperfect locationmanvers streetlovely hotelcar parktrain stationno air conditioninghotel barchristmas marketbooked this hotelsmall roomone night staythermae spaafternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,610 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018

I have several warnings about this hotel. The front rooms are very noisy, til 2-3 am, as the crowds at the bars outside are loud. Get a back room, even though no view. We were there on some hot nights and the rooms do not have A/C. Furthermore, the windows only open a few inches, so the electric fans they provide don't solve much. Very uncomfortable. Lastly, some rooms have no bureaus or closets and one room had a potential killer step down WITHIN THE BATHROOM. Breakfast was only fair and the staff was new and didn't seem to know what to do yet.

Room Tip: Pick a back room, the front of the hotel is too noisy, til late hours in the am.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NYTraveler023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, Front Office Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I appreciate the comments and I can understand that the noise and heat made an impact on you stay though these are out of our control and as air conditioning is not a feature at our hotel we are doing our best to keep the temperature down in the rooms.
The room you stayed in does have a step in the Bath room and I can assure you that our health & safety and maintenance team have inspected it.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Peter Macey-Welsh
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

For the second time we have stayed at the Abbey Hotel in Bath. This time I selected the smallest room which was a bit too small for two but I did that to myself so not their fault. The location is great. It has a really nice bar and outside eating area. During the holidays, it also has great outdoor space set up. I'd stay there every time. Breakfast is good also. Nothing bad to say about this place! Parking near by.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, Front Office Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Trisha,

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a great time in Bath while taking advantage of our outdoor terrace and great breakfast offering.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bath very soon!

Kind Regards

Peter Macey-Welsh
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

A weekend in Bath. Yes it was their festival weekend. Yes the city centre was packed also with tours of folk from every corner of the world, groups of 40-50 and all ages. They were not staying at the Abbey Hotel-but we were and were not happy with either the room allocated or the general attitude. Our booking was made for a double room on April 25th, three months prior to our stay. Imagine our dismay when we were allocated a small odd shaped double room on the third floor at the back over the area for the bar and kitchen waste bins. Servant's quarters from a bygone era came to mind. It was really only suitable for single occupancy; no cupboard only a rail with 4 coat hangers; one chair and one bedside table with lamp, as the bed was pushed against the far wall to enable entry first into the room itself and then to the shower room. It was a big disappointment especially as it cost £444 for two nights and breakfast was extra! The weekend happened to be extremely hot weather-wise but there was only a table fan on a high shelf to relieve the heat at night and the window partially open but with the blind down, as the resident seagulls roosted on the roof 20 yards away! The so-called super-fast WiFi was extremely flaky. No, we did not complain.What was the point as no-one even asked did we enjoy our stay? Beware, the price goes up and down according to the season. I wish we had stayed at the Premier Inn !

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, Front Office Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Barbara,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with some feedback on you recent stay in bath with us. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy you stay and I have taken all of your points and will look to action what we can to develop and improve the hotel for our guests.

In reference to the room facilities our rooms do not have wardrobes and standard and hanging space is provided for clothing, our small double rooms have a small double bed and is against the wall on one side which is described as such on our website. Air conditioning is not a feature of our hotel and the unusually hot weather is out of our control though we have worked hard to keep the hotel as cool as possible.


Thank you again for your feedback.


Kind Regards

Peter Macey-Welsh

Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

The Abbey Hotel is a very nice hotel in a great central location. We appreciated the very friendly reception staff who were helpful whenever we had any questions. Our room was comfy enough for a one night's stay but we thought the room was a bit too small. There was no wardrobe in the room while the bathroom was part of the bedroom with no wall to separate the two which was unusual.

We enjoyed the hotel restaurant food (we had dinner and breakfast there) which was of high quality. There was plenty of breakfast options both hot and cold. However, some of the restaurant staff could have been more attentive - one waiter dropped a glass and it took several minutes for it to be cleaned up. We also had to point out some rather large shards that had been missed.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, Front Office Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us in Bath. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the room being different to what you expected. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff and we are proud of our friendly and helpful teams.

I have passed on your remarks on the great food to the restaurant manager who will also look into possible training needs of the teams to ensure all of our guests receive the care and attention required.

Kind Regards

Peter Macey-Welsh
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

We booked a deluxe family room for 2 night stay - nothing deluxe about it!! Room was in basement below street level with poor lighting, stained carpet & moldy smell throughout! Room was also extremely noisy - sounded like furniture being moved & people running & jumping through ceiling above. We felt like we were staying in a dungeon & at over £300 per night was a complete rip off!! Don’t be fooled by all the positive reviews on booking.com. There’s no way this hotel would, should or could have a rating of 7/10 let alone 10/10!! I’ve given it 2 stars purely for its location.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank 612bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, Front Office Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear 612bear,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not to the standard you expected. I am sorry to hear that your experienced noise disturbance during your stay, I am looking into improved sounds insulation for all of our rooms as we are aware being a city centre hotel passing noise is unavoidable.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay and we will work hard to improve the areas you have highlighted in the future.

Kind Regards
Peter Macey-Welsh
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews