We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$181
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$160
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Harington's Hotel(Bath)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Cranleigh(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquae Sulis Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Beeches(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,470)
Filter reviews
2,470 results
Traveller rating
1,308
812
249
79
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,308
812
249
79
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrasserie blancfeature roomqueen squarecar parklovely hotelsuperior roomafternoon teacentral locationclassic roomnespresso machineper nightthird floorbed was very comfortableroyal crescentmain attractionswithin easy walking distancestayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2,470 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel in 2013 and loved it. It was even better this time. It is in a beautiful location, close to the center city, the Jane Austen museum, the Theatre Royal Bath, the abbey, and wonderful shops. The lobby is lovely and comfortable. The staff couldn't be more helpful. I would love to go there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Queens Square have a lovely view
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisHotelBath, Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Patricia G

Always a pleasure welcoming guests back to the Francis. Thanks you so much for choosing to return. I am delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed the convenience of our location.
Do let me know when you will be back as I would love the opportunity to personally welcome you back.

Looking forward to it !

Kindest Regards
Pash Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights in Bath to see all the tourist hotspots. This hotel is very well located for this. After our car was valet parked on our arrival we didn't need the car again until we left for home. The hotel is very attractively decorated and the room was very well appointed. We had lunch on arrival and it was very good as were the breakfasts. We would certainly stay there again.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank deedee532015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisHotelBath, Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear deedee532015

3 nights in Bath ... what an amazing time you must have had in our beautiful city.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and also for your kind words and review. I am glad you had a great stay and that you will be returning.
I do hope that I get to meet you on your next visit and look forward to it

Kindest Regards
Pash Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Francis Hotel in Bath, in late May, 2018. We were pleased with the hotel.

The hotel was created by combining a row of common-wall townhouses, so when you walk through the hall, you'll see a sign with something like "House number 6".

The location is good, easy walking distance to just about everything in Bath. The room we had was good sized although the bath was very small - but efficient.

The furnishings of the room were good - the bed was comfortable and the linens were nice. WiFi access was easy to connect to and fast. You have to re-connect every 24 hours but that's not too bad. They had a Nespresso type coffee maker and we enjoyed the ease of making coffee in the morning.

The air conditioning worked well and the control was easy to operate. The room "key" is a contactless card, which I like.

The staff was good, polite, knowledgeable and helpful.

We ate two breakfasts and two dinners in the restaurant. The food was good and the staff was competent and helpful.

All-in-all, a very good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank P Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisHotelBath, Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear P Michael H

Thank you so much for all your kind words and wonderful feedback.
It really pleases me to have read of your experience and know that you had a good stay with us.

I will be sure to pass on your thoughts to the team as well as Brasserie Blanc, and am sure they will be appreciative of the mention.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Francis, and hopeful;ly meeting you as well.

Regards
Pash Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We only had 1 night here but everything was effortless from arrival. Reception were friendly & quick to retrieve our reservation. Our car was parked for us immediately (extra cost but necessary in Bath), our room was ready & very clean & comfortable.

Breakfast was good, staff down there were very friendly. The place has a lovely upper class feel to it but no snobbery. Even the concierge made the effort to say hello each time as we ventured in & out throughout the day.

Location is very central & easy to find your way back to when heading out on foot. We would certainly return.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bren813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisHotelBath, Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear bren813

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your thoughts with us.
I am so pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us.
Thank you for your kind words about the team, I am positive that this will be highly appreciated.
Glad you enjoyed breakfast and took great advantage of our fantastic location.

We all look forward to having you back soon

Regards
Pash Naidoo


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights for Anniversary trip in May 2018. First impressions on entering the hotel were very pleasant, lovely decor and very helpful and attentive staff. Met at the front of the hotel by concierge who took our suitcase and directed us to car park at the rear. Check in was very efficient and helpful, offered a map and asked if we needed any recommendations. Stayed in a corner superior room on 2nd floor which was lovely, not massive but plenty of room. Lovely walk in shower in bathroom. The bed was comfortable but perhaps a bit too soft for our preferences but thats down to our preferences, it didn't stop us sleeping well. Breakfast served in Brasserie Blanc which is within the hotel was really nice, good choice of cereals, continental options and full english which you helped yourself to from a buffet. Had a couple of cocktails in the bar during our stay which were ok but nothing spectacular. On the two nights we were there, the bar didn't seem to be particularly well used but perhaps that is simply down to the location of the hotel as it is very central and there are loads of other bars in easy walking distance. Being so central, you do get some noise from outside but that's nothing the hotel can control, simply down to the location. Overall, a lovely location, attentive and helpful staff and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brewster_66uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisHotelBath, Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Brewster_66uk,

Happy Anniversary!

What a lovely read your review was, i'm glad the team and the hotel helped you celebrate your anniversary so well.

Sorry to hear you found the bed to soft, when you stay again, we do have mattress toppers on the beds you can request this to be removed to make the bed a little more firm for your comfort.

The team at the Brasserie will be delighted to hear you enjoyed the breakfast so much, and i will also feedback to them your comments about the cocktails, i do hope you will enjoy them on your return.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Pash Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews