We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,271)
Filter reviews
1,271 results
Traveller rating
1,120
133
11
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,120
133
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit pulteney bridge henrietta street quiet street georgian townhouse top floor roman baths breakfast room shared bathroom small hotel full english few minutes walk city centre single room delicious breakfast excellent location lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 1,271 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Breakfast is very good. Location of hotel is perfect.. Pubs, restaurants, riverside walks, the baths, shopping and the train station are all very close.Suggest the free Mayor's walking tour to get you started.

Room tip: No elevator or A/C. Suggest a lower floor room if you have big bags and one that faces the breeze if it is hot out.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKennardTeam, Owner at The Kennard, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Kennard and for taking the time to leave a review.

Our location in Bath is indeed unbeatable and with the complimentary parking permits we offer our guests, Bath and all its wonderful tourist sites can be explored on foot, from The Kennard.

The Mayor's Free Walking Tour of Bath is our top suggestion for starting your visit in Bath. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

We hope you recommend our hospitality to friends and family and we look forward to another opportunity to host you, in the future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

We loved this hotel. We would recommend it in a heartbeat to friends or family, as we would recommend a trip to Bath. What an unusual, welcoming city, and the Kennard has the tone to match.

We had the room at the top of lots of stairs that looks out on the abbey, the “room with the view” and we spent relaxing time lying on the bed looking out the window and listening to gulls. The lights of the old buildings twinkle at night and the abbey glistens white in early morning. The room was clean, attractive and sunny. The air was fresh. There were quirky little things—there was not a lot of space for hanging clothes, there was a shower door that was hard to close—but that didn’t bother us. The staff we encountered were very helpful, super helpful. It was on the level of concierge service. They explained the city map, described where to get a meal quickly when we arrived hungry, they spent a lot of time to help us with a particularly difficult booking, they printed out tickets, they offered us a breakfast tray for the morning we had to check out before breakfast time. They made it clear that they wanted us to be happy, and we were.

Yeah, the TV is kind of boring, but on my one sleepless night I used the very dependable, free WiFi to watch videos on my phone and listen to music. Where else would you find homemade shortbreads replaced daily, or a lending library of books? There is an umbrella stand full of umbrellas to borrow in the front hall! The hotel is on a personal scale, charming and restful.

The breakfasts were amazing. I had trouble in England getting the volume of raw fruit and vegetables I’m used to eating, but the Kennard offered strawberries, oranges, freshly cut fruit salad, good yogurt, dried fruit, along with any kind of egg breakfast one could desire, complete with vegetables. (There were pastries and an array of breakfast cereals as well.) The produce was fresh, the dishes were well-prepared and the food was plentiful. The bread was good quality bread, juices were fresh, water was infused with herbs. The dining room was beautiful. Neither of us has ever had this high level of breakfast included in a hotel or B&B.

And Bath is unique. We live right in the middle of NYC. We obviously have museums and cultural events at our fingertips. But we could go to Bath again and again and not run out of things to see or do. The city seems unusually welcoming of the people who come to explore it, and the Kennard was part of that whole experience for us.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bothofusnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKennardTeam, Owner at The Kennard, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you! We cant begin to describe how happy it made us feel to read your review.

Thank you for describing our beautiful city and Bathonians in such generous and kind words. Our city is small but it packs a lot in - history, architecture, theater, museums, festivals, parks, sports, universities, eating out and shopping... with very warm, polite and welcoming people, who take immense pride in it.

It was our absolute pleasure to assist you with your bookings, restaurant suggestions and early morning breakfast tray. We assure you of our warm and attentive service at all times, on all your visits back to us. We do all love the 'It was on the level of concierge service' comment - we must be doing things right! Thank you.

We appreciate the wonderful detailed description of the breakfast. Glad to know that you relished the wide offering and appreciated the fresh local produce and think of it as the best over all your stays in a hotel or B&B.

The 'room with a view' is one of my favourite rooms in the house too. I love the rows of chimney tops that have been standing for centuries.
Thank you for the appreciating the small personal features - the home made shortbread cookies and the small library.

We promise our guests the experience of staying in one of Bath's original Georgian townhouses with service and accommodation that truly reflects this beautiful city’s social history and culture. We are delighted to read that, that is exactly what you experienced.

We are grateful to you for recommending The Kennard to your friends and family and we look forward to the opportunity to host them in the future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Throughly enjoyed our stay at the Kennard, well situated to walk into Bath. Great selection for breakfast in one of the most beautiful breakfast rooms we have visited. Staff are warm and helpful. We stay there again if we are in Bath.

Room tip: Stayed in the cosy double, small but adequate.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael230666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKennardTeam, Owner at The Kennard, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you for a lovely review.

We are extremely flattered that you found our breakfast room, the most beautiful. Thank you for this very kind compliment.

We look forward to hosting you again, if your travels bring you to Bath and assure you of our warm and helpful service at all times.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We arrived to this cosy environment with a really central location and were met by superfriendly staff who gave us some good restaurant suggestions and showed us the free and easy parking. We could end the day with a glas of wine in the beautiful garden.

The breakfast was calm with all the food we could ask for. Hope to be there again soon!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank staffanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKennardTeam, Owner at The Kennard, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave a review.

It was our absolute pleasure to have shared our restaurant suggestions with you and we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed them.
Thank you for appreciating The Kennard setting, environment, service, breakfast and location. The complimentary parking permits are real handy as they save our guests the inconvenience of looking for parking and the expense of paying for parking, in the heart of Bath.

The garden at The Kennard has been very popular this summer season. The guests have throughly enjoyed it most evenings with a beer or a glass of wine.

Hope to see you again, soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We were late for the checking in but the lady at the reception waited for us. Apart from that, the hotel is very quiet and we can have a very good sleep for two nights. What's more is about their breakfast, it was the best of all for our trip this time. And I loved their little garden too. The location is perfect for all attractions.
I'll definitely stay there again.

Room tip: No Lift, so you have to carry your luggage up to the upper floor rooms
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jalin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKennardTeam, Owner at The Kennard, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank you so much for such a warm heading - lovely place and lovely people.
It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you again, someday.

We take immense pride in our breakfast offering and service - from the freshly squeezed orange juice, the locally sourced bacon and sausages, to the selection of loose leaf teas and freshly ground coffees. We are delighted you thought of it as the best of all!

The garden has been a boon over this summer season - it is a beautiful and quiet place to read a book with a glass of wine or a cup of tea. We are very fortunate to have this green space, right in the centre of town.

Best regards, till we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews