We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Era gone by”
Review of The Roman Baths

The Roman Baths
Ranked #1 of 129 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Roman Baths is one of the finest historic sites in Northern Europe, and one of the most popular tourist attractions in the UK. Hidden beneath the present city of Bath lies the stone remains of one of the finest religious spas of the ancient world.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 3 May 2018

An amazing place to visit- so much to learn and take in. Get an audio guide when you go around- worth getting, you can select in different languages. Gets very busy and nosy with international students. You can try the water near the end of tour around- not to everyone's liking- be aware. Big shop at end- learnt so much.

Thank joannaA5689221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19,696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"audio guide"
in 1,995 reviews
"roman baths"
in 4,167 reviews
"bill bryson"
in 495 reviews
"main bath"
in 277 reviews
"own pace"
in 481 reviews
"take your time"
in 173 reviews
"pump room"
in 301 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 353 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 194 reviews
"visit bath"
in 371 reviews
"step back in time"
in 181 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 198 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 240 reviews
"two hours"
in 294 reviews
"fashion museum"
in 195 reviews
"history"
in 3,718 reviews
"information"
in 1,362 reviews
Filter

1,345 - 1,349 of 19,701 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Not quite as good as I expected. The main pool seemed dirty and had scum on the top. Didn’t take very long to go round.

1  Thank Mrsanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageServices, Marketing Officer at The Roman Baths, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hello, we're sorry to hear that you did not find the visit as good as you expected. The reason the Great Bath is green because of the combination of sunshine and nutrient rich water providing a great environment for algae to photosynthesise. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Interesting insight into Roman Britain and what the Romans did for us. Well worth a visit if you're in Bath!

Thank cwal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

The Roman Baths are amazing. Baths and museum take about an hour, which was handy as we picked up the free tour (on the hour), so try and time your visit, as meeting point after museum. Guide Iain was excellent and filled in all the knowledge gaps.

Thank JaneH1853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Nice visit with renewed facilities.I was here 11 years ago, and they have improved the access and information pannels.

Thank Mercedes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Roman Baths also viewed

 

Been to The Roman Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing