We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,047)
Filter reviews
5,047 results
Traveller rating
2,108
1,395
869
421
254
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,108
1,395
869
421
254
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice roomimperial suitevellore restaurantsalt roomoutdoor poollovely hotelbath spaon arrivalcooked breakfastmolton brown toiletriesspecial occasionbirthday treatrelaxing staycar parkafternoon teacity centrefour poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 5,047 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a package break including treatments, dinner, breakfast and afternoon teas.

The bad points..

There was confusion with the spa about booking treatments, we were given 55 minute treatments but when we asked about booking they told us there was only 30 minute slots available. After some time trying to work out an option it turns out they had already booked us a slot for treatments but never told us. We had tried calling for whole of the previous week but nobody answered the phone.

They advertise air conditioning however the rooms are not. We complained on the way out, only to be told the rooms have 'air cooling' which apparently turns itself off halfway through the night and when you turn it back on to the coldest setting it then pumps hot air into the room regardless of the temperature. This led to some pretty rubbish nights sleep.

Be warned that breakfast is terrible, the food was cold, rubbery and was sent back by several tables.

Lastly nobody had a clue what was going on with afternoon tea, nobody knew where to book, when you were expected or what you were getting.

The good points...

The hotel was lovely, stunning grounds, nice sized rooms and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful even though they seemed to be overworked as there wasn't enough at key times.

Our evening meal in the restaurant was stunning, the wine and steaks were delicious and well recommended, and the food that was part of afternoon tea was stunning and I would recommend popping in just for those of you didn't want to stay.

The spa was great, the treatments were exactly what we asked for and not a let down, some parts of the spa weren't working (the steam room) but what was working was great.

Overall it was a great break let down by simple faults. If they could get these fixed the whole break would have been spot on.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macdonald Bath ... M, The Leadership Team at MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Darren G
Thank you for providing us with your very detailed feedback.We do appreciate the time time that you have taken to prepare and present this to us all. We were most pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and do apologize for your breakfast experience and the confusion in booking your spa treatments. Your review will be shared with our Heads of Department whom will look into the issues that you have raised and will eliminate these for our future guests. We do hope that you will be able to provide us with another opportunity to be able to redeem ourselves and to be able to show you the standards and service that we are well renowned for. Thank you.
Yours sincerely
The Leadership Team at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked to stay here for a couple of nights. After seeing some awful reviews after booking the hotel I was a bit worried about what it would be like.
The grounds and location of the hotel is beautiful. Only 10 min walk into bath and slight hill on way back through Sydney gardens. Yes you have to pay to park but, most hotels in bath do not have parking facilities so I found the parking useful.
We stayed in an executive double room, the room was clean and tidy, the carpet was slightly dirty but that’s to be expected. The reception staff when we checked in were nice and friendly. We did not have to wait to check in. We went for breakfast around 8.45- we were seated straight away. The service was slow in ordering a hot meal but, you could clearly see they were short staffed and people were asking them for silly things which they could just have got up and got themselves instead of wasting the waiters time. We did not have a spa treatment as I thought the prices were very steep, but that’s personal choice.
Overall, we found our stay very nice and relaxing and staff were friendly. I would stay it’s not up to 5* standards however, the hotel was still nice to stay in.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gee519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macdonald Bath ... M, The Leadership Team at MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear gee519
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us all here on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate such positive comments and are most pleased that you have had a nice stay. Thank you for providing a detailed review, and we do look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.
Yours sincerely
The Leadership Team at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked one night. Have stayed before and knew the spa facilities were great and again did not disappoint. Some minor room issues, plugs, cracked carpet rail, no audio in bathroom. However staff are very helpful and vibe is relaxed. Great building Great location, Nice brisk 10-15 min walk to town. We will be staying again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macdonald Bath ... M, The Leadership Team at MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dan F
Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. We do thank you for your continued loyalty to the Hotel and to the Macdonald Brand. We are delighted to read that you have had another great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next occasion.
Yours sincerely
The Leadership Team at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel itself is beautiful, the setting is beautiful however, the service and the facilities are definitely not five star! Service at breakfast very slow and indifferent. Food mediocre and the spa was dirty and the service non-existent. Problems getting a meal in the evening after 21:30 - not even possible to get a sandwich at the bar!. Unless something drastic happens in the meantime would not recommend this hotel. Definitely not worth the money, although the location is fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank businesslady30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macdonald Bath ... M, The Leadership Team at MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear businesslady30
Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your most recent experience with us here at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel. We are extremely sorry that you found your stay to be most disappointing, and our service to be non-existent - this is truly not the impression that we wish to portray to our guests. Should you wish to discuss your review further, please contact: dutymanager.bathspa@macdonald-hotels.co.uk
Yours sincerely
The Leadership Team at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Disappointing. Certainly not 5 star. Restaurant service – dinner and breakfast extremely slow - very poor. Clearly the kitchen cannot cope with the number of covers at dinner when there is also a function. Breakfast, with all guests attending was abysmal in both service and food quality. Additionally the managers at both breakfast and dinner have ‘attitude’ problems.

There was a multitude of other small issues including at times a lack of reception staff. A nice building and gardens with a competitive price does not compensate for the complete lack of organisation at the hotel.

It is to be noted that there was a queue of dissatisfied customers waiting to complain to the hotel manager, at the time of our checkout, we therefore chose to write to the general manager – Ajit More – and to the duty manager – neither has had the courtesy to reply!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank windylady2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macdonald Bath ... M, The Leadership Team at MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear windylady2018
Thank you for providing us with your important feedback. We will look into the issues that you have raised and will share your feedback with our Heads of Departments so that we are able to identify and to remedy these situations. We do hope that we may have the opportunity to be able to welcome you back on another occasion.
Yours sincerely
The Leadership Team at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews