We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sunday carvery 😍❤️”
Review of The Wingfield Arms

The Wingfield Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wingfield Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 384 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Price range: US$4 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A warm friendly local pub and restaurant located in Shrewsbury, Shropshire. The Wingfield Arms is a 16th-century coaching house by the old crossing of the River Severn. The river bridge (also known as Montford Bridge) is Grade II Listed and is on the old A5 road from London to Holyhead, and was built by Thomas Telford. We are situated next to a separately run large camping site (Wingfield Caravan Park) and a canoe hire business (Hire A Canoe). The Wingfield Arms is a family owned pub and it is ample and popular to the locals and neighboring villages. There is a well-used public bar with two wood-burn fireplaces, TV, pool table, darts area and goldfish tank, together with a small lounge. A separate dining area together with a large function room to the rear of the building is where the a la Carte menu and its popular Sunday carvery is regularly served. The Wingfield Arms is family and pet-friendly establishment, an outdoor children's play area is found next to the beer garden
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had an excellent Sunday carvery! All fresh vegetables meat cooked to perfection and homemade Yorkshire puddings all very polite and friendly staff.
second time we have been and it certainly won’t be the last!!!
Jackie and rob :)

Thank Kaylee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWingfieldArms_SY, Manager at The Wingfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jackie and Rob,

Thank you so much for your feedback, truly appreciate it.

So please you enjoyed your caveries, look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent Carvery, all fresh homemade and hot. Lovely atmosphere, staff are very friendly. Would definately recommend a visit. Large restaurant to cater for big groups.

1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWingfieldArms_SY, Manager at The Wingfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Jane B,

We are delighted to read your review and more importantly thrilled that you enjoyed your Sunday Carvery with us.
Our team work incredibly hard to provide the best customer service and always strive to improve where necessary.

We look forward to next visit :)

Kind Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have ate in the wingfield for the past 12 months and the food and service has always been good. Highly recomend going

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank StephenForde123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWingfieldArms_SY, Manager at The Wingfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you StephenForde123,

It's been a real pleasure having you for the past 12 months and we look forward to many more months of you dining with us :)

Kind Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a table for 9 people for a birthday Sunday carvery. We all went up together, service was so slow that the first person had finished before the last sat down. Meal cold, carrots dry, broccoli rock hard, no pigs in blankets and Yorkshire Puddings no more than 2 inches wide and like a biscuit. We complained to the waitress who said a manager would come and see us. This did not happen. Complained to the owner when paying who denied any knowledge. Upon leaving the Manager asked us ‘to not give up on us’. All in all an expensive, dreadful, and an extremely poor experience. Ruined what should have been a lovely birthday lunch for 9 people. Will certainly not recommend this establishment or return again. This was the feeling of the whole group.

1  Thank _eddiefelton2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWingfieldArms_SY, Manager at The Wingfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi _eddiefelton2355,

Sincere apologies for your recent experience at The Wingfield. We are so disappointed to hear you about your experience that we looked into the issue for you.

As we are currently in the midst of changing kitchen staff, we have had to work with temp staff in the interim - unfortunately, communication was not the best on Sunday hence your review.
At The Wingfield, we do pride outselves in customer service, regardless of the experience - I understand that we discounted £20 off your meal to apologise for the day. The owner who took your bill was very apologetic as it was not the norm for us to have such issues.

Rest assured we are rectifying the issue immediately as we want our customers to know they come first. We also would like to invite all 9 of you to come back for a carvery on the house. If this is of interest to you, please call or email us on management@thewingfieldarms.co.uk to confirm your booking.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch at the Wingfield Arms on 28 March 2018 to revisit a place that we last visited 16 years ago. We were celebrating my wife's birthday so we thought we would go back to the place we had one of our first outings together.
Firstly we were relieved that the place was still open ( as many pubs are closing these days) and secondly they were serving lunch, we were pleasantly greeted and asked if we were dining and were shown to a table, we ordered drinks and we were brought the menu's. And having ordered our food we were able to have good look around dinning area, everywhere was spotlessly clean and with crisp white tablecloths the whole dining area was looking very smart. Our starters arrived and we're presented beautifully and they tasted as good as they looked and the same can be said about our main course. All in all a lovely afternoon with delicious food attentive staff and lovely surroundings we would recommend.

Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWingfieldArms_SY, Manager at The Wingfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Wow, thanks Alan J!

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are so delighted you enjoyed your visit to The Wingfield Arms.
Our team works incredibly hard to give our customers the best dining experience and your feedback really gives us a real boost knowing we are doing something right!

We so look forward to having you both again and feel free to introduce yourselves, be lovely to put a face to a name :)

Thanks again Alan!

Kind Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wingfield Arms also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The Wingfield Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing