We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely tranquil retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ludlow, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Keith R
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not whay we expected”
Reviewed 31 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

“Very disappointing only saved by excellent weather which meant we could keep the door open.”


Kitchen/diner/living space only 12 ft x 14ft.
No table and chairs as per photo breakfast bar with two high stools
No settee as per photo, two IKEA chairs now worn and go back beyond the comfort zone we used pillows and cushions to compensate
Only view was into the courtyard
Very overpriced, compared to other properties with bookings ,com and other local properties £290/300 would have been fairer


Property was clean and well designed given that it was mid terrace in a space that had been a garage for two cars.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2018
As The Dairy was recently awarded a Certificate of Excellence by TripAdvisor and our reviews have an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 Stars it is disheartening to learn that your experience was so different from other guests. We will however, expand the description of the kitchen to differentiate it from the larger Byre cottage, the image of which should not be included for The Dairy. The IKEA cushions were replaced only last year but we appreciate that the rocker/semi-recliner chairs are not to every taste but appropriate for the cottage and there have been no previous complaints. However, we will bear your observations in mind at our next update.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill836
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely tranquil retreat”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Small but spotless apartment with all necessary conveniences, plus home made cake and milk in the fridge provided by the helpful and friendly owners to greet us on arrival. Great location if you value peace and quiet, but also convenient by car for Ludlow and other local towns.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Thank you, we're happy when you're happy and even happier when our guests tell others. Hope to see you when you come over again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWarb
2 reviews
“Delightful in every way.”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We couldn't think of a better accommodation for a cosy couple. We had a lovely stay in The Byre at Highgrove Barn. Excellent location for exploring Shropshire for walking and cycling (lockable cycle storage included). Rob and Chris took great care in the finishing touches (underfloor heating was amazing!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
Thanks James, also for your recommendations to friends and family. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraAn...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A short break”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We booked a last minute 2 night break in early August.
The barn was very well equipped but much too small for our requirements.
When we visited it was warm and we asked if we could open the skylights.
We were advised these were not normally opened except when the owners did a deep clean.
On opening the bathroom skylight the wash basin became full of debris, which we cleared.
We were warned about this but even so it was August and nice to have some air. We then did not bother with the one in the tiny lounge area.
To keep the door open as it was so warm we had to prop it up with a cardboard box!
The only good thing was the lovely garden where we were able to BBQ and eat outside.
We thought it was overpriced and would think twice about returning as we felt it was quite claustrophobic inside. We were grateful that the weather was kind to us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: The very small living area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
We are sorry that The Dairy barn did not live up to your expectations.

We will re-consider our policy on skylights and security in our ground-floor properties following your feedback, although we have only had one other person in twelve years ask for the skylight pole which is available on request. The unaccustomed Floridian weather during your short stay was we guess a factor in your assessment.

The shower room has an automatic air extractor which has been found more than adequate for ventilation.

The Dairy is our smaller barn and is only for two people. We recollect you informed us that the cottage you prefer to stay at is for four and much more spacious in a stand-alone position. Both our Dairy and Byre cottages are attached former barns with natural limitations on space but have been carefully planned for comfortable one-bedroom accommodation at reasonable prices.

Just before your late booking the couple who stayed in The Dairy rated us five stars, as do 99% of our guests. They are long-time HPB bond-holders who take several breaks a year and rated us as equal to the properties they regularly stay in with HPB which is the gold standard in self-catering properties. We have, ourselves visited their award winning resorts and we were honoured by the favourable comparison.

We take all comments very seriously as we have retained our four-star Visit Britain rating since we opened and our TripAdvisor reviews do we feel speak for themselves. However, there is always room for improvement in any service and we will be looking again at our policy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enid H
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A cosy 'home from home'”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A very enjoyable stay at this well appointed converted dairy which accommodates two people! The property is situated down a lane a mile away from the town? Everything we required had been thoughtfully provided for. Situated in a quiet and private location next to the owners home and with parking space included. Two outdoor seating areas are also available and cushions provided. Can recommend as a good holiday location choice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet - everything we needed was thoughtfully provided
Liked least: From the adverts we had expected a view of the Shropshire Hills? No views, felt rather enclosed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing