We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky townhouse in a brilliant position”
other travellers have booked this property
House Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House Front
Kitchen Dining/Living with Woodburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
House Front
Kitchen
Dining/Living with Woodburner
Living/dining Room with Woodburner
Stairs to First Floor
Sitting Room
Bedroom
Sitting Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ludlow, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FJGStaffs
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky townhouse in a brilliant position”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ideally placed for exploring town. Despite being on a main street, the bedrooms were quiet. We received excellent attention from the keyholder over the road. The house is an ex-home, full of books and old furniture (in fact a chair broke). There is a cosy lounge on the first floor. The kitchen is tiny, and a challenge, but one of our party was able to cook from scratch an authentic Sri Lankan curry that we enjoyed around the large table on the ground floor. However, it is clear from the description that house is old and quirky and we booked it on that basis.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
1 review
“Ludlow Food Festival”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

An enchanting quirky old house perfectly positioned to explore Ludlow. We stayed here for the food festival weekend and it suited our needs completely. The house itself is packed with personal possessions which created a homely feel. The two bathrooms and three toilets were ideal for a party of 5 friends. Lynn the housekeeper guided us and provided useful tips on eating and parking. Also flexible on arrival and departure times. Overall we had a great weekend and would stay here again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River M
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious character accomodation in a great location”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This lovely house was just as advertised, situated right in the town centre and within easy walking distance of Ludlow's shops and restaurants.

We had a very warm and friendly welcome, and the house was clean, tidy, and well presented. The kitchen is small, as others have mentioned - but perfectly adequate for a short stay. The other rooms were all of generous proportions and very comfortable.

Our only grumble was that although there were plenty of power sockets, most were hard to access (behind furniture etc). Once you have 6 adults all trying to charge mobiles/tablets it is a bit of a nuisance. Nothing that a couple of extension leads wouldn't fix, though.

We had a lovely stay and wouldn't hesitate booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very warm welcome
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Thank you. Good idea about extension leads. We will get some.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiswick1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well located but house in need of some TLC”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

An interesting and comfortable house with a cosy living room - well located. We however spent the time (when in the property) discussing how much it would cost to get it up to scratch - e.g. upstairs shower doesn't work, furnishings and carpet throughout the house extremely dated. You can see it has a lot of history and character which is nice but realistically you couldn't stay there for a big family 'do' with the size of the kitchen therefore doesn't warrant the inflated nightly cost.

We received a warm welcome but ultimately its a lovely old building that needs investment to be a homely and decent rental.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Thank you for your useful criticisms - I agree about the carpets - despite the running battle we have with stains left by guests, they are due for replacement early in the new year.
We are puzzled about the upstairs shower which is new and should have been working perfectly - perhaps you did not mention this problem to Lynne who could have immediately corrected things by turning on a pump - the water pressure in the house can be a problem.
Most of the people staying in the house are larger parties and we do stress the small kitchen - due to access to services - we wonder what your solutions were, and at what cost - we think the only option is to buy next door, which is not available at the moment, because of 'flying freeholds.
The furniture may be dated but mostly antiques appropriate to the age of the house.
We are staying in the house shortly and will take a fresh look.
Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen F
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely old house!”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We really liked this quirky house - the location was fabulous. Although the kitchen was very small, it didn't matter as that was a good excuse to try out all the pubs and restaurants around us. The town centre was very close by (probably 10 mins walk maximum). The house was clean, warm and comfortable.

We had a great trip and some lovely food. We ate at The Rose & Crown, The Queens and The Blue Boar - all meals were excellent. We had breakfast one morning at The Parkway - wonderful!

In terms of things to do, we had a nice morning walking around the market and visiting Ludlow Castle, and also the Brewery. I'd definitely recommend Ludlow as a place to go for a weekend away - lots to do!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you Joan - we hate the small kitchen but we were restricted by access to services. We have tried to equip it well despite the size. I am glad you enjoyed everything else. Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing