We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect weekend getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
zoegnunn
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway”
Reviewed 1 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed here for a weekend. As we were all travelling from different parts of the country we got the train to Sheffield and used taxis to get to and from the cottage. This was easy and inexpensive (£12-15 each way), even when snowing! We also had no problems returning after an evening out in Sheffield.

The cottage was really well equipped and incredibly clean and tidy. The owners were very welcoming and always happy to help. The cottage is set in beautiful countryside and within walking distance of the nearest village. It really is a wonderful place to visit.

We had a lovely weekend away, and we all agreed we would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schoten, Belgium
Reviewed 17 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage, location and hosts!”
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in April 2012

A fantastic little cottage in a secluded area of the Peak District. The cottage is immaculate and has everything you could need.

Sara provided some local food, bread, eggs and jam for us on arrival and made us feel completely welcome.

Local village is only a short walk away, with some fantastic walks around the local reservoirs. The rest of the Peak District is only a short drive.

Really memorable place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notfes53
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Cosy, warm and very well equipped cottage with delightful owner”
Reviewed 8 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

From the moment we booked we felt like valued guests and the whole experience was delightful: from the comprehensive paperwork which was promptly emailed to us - to the wonderful hospitality tray of two local beers, and preserves, supplemented by very fresh farm-laid eggs, fresh butter and milk. There were fresh herbs growing in pots on the kitchen window sill - a very nice touch. There was also complimentary tea and coffee, an effective coffee-maker and plenty of cookware and utensils to enable a huge English Breakfast to be cooked with ease. If you're a keen baker there are even ceramic beans and pastry cutters! All the dirty dishes and pots were despatched to the full-sized dishwasher (N.B. - I think that only one of the two cottages is equipped with a dishwasher. You can choose to seat three at the breakfast counter or use the dining table in the living room.

Bedding and beds were all very new and comfortable; our daughter shared the accommodation with us for a couple of nights using the sofa bed in the living room, and she slept very well. There's a well stocked library in the cottage, containing both reference books and an extensive selection of paperbacks - if you don't finish a book you can simple leave one of your own and take their book away to finish - can't say fairer than that! There's also a comprehensive local guide to the area.

Whilst the location is a little isolated, that only adds the charm of Peat Pits Farm Cottage. If we find it available when we're next in the area we'd definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality and the special little touches
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edlcs2
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning location, beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 29 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012

It was such a haven of relaxation and beauty in this lovely cottage. I loved the way it was decorated, it felt very homey. I had a bit of trouble getting to the property for the car rental agency had closed for the bank holiday weekend. I gave Sara a call and she arranged for me to be picked up at the nearest pub and then kindly had her partner drive me to the grocery store to do some shopping to last me until Tuesday. On Tuesday they drove me to pick up my car rental. The cottage was perfection, really. You will need a car if you like to see the region. Sara had tons of tourist information in book with maps, a welcome kit of local beer, honey and cookies. I couldn't recommend it more. Thanks for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the comfort of the cottage
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing