We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London
195

Book in advance
from
US$109.47
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Blenheim Palace
from US$109.47
More Info
from US$471.81
More Info
from US$84.87
More Info
from US$184.51
More Info
Reviews (8,229)
Filter reviews
8,229 results
Traveller rating
4,949
1,918
698
359
305
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,949
1,918
698
359
305
Show reviews that mention
All reviews annual pass winston churchill butterfly house day ticket flower show formal gardens christmas lights the secret garden state rooms christmas market stately home beautiful grounds gift shop entrance fee audio tour train ride italian garden
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,294 - 2,299 of 8,229 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Drove here on the ring road from Oxford and had no trouble finding the entry and were well directed by workers to the correct carpark area. You pay for your tickets as you drive in, so once out of the car all we had to do was be awed a lot and go "wow" regularly. Entry is via the giftshop, then through to the courtyard where another entry point had our bags being checked by ghurkas! So as I was saying, wow to the palace, wow to the grounds, wow to the facades, statues, front doors, and double wow once you actually enter the building. Enormous, impressive, dazzling.

We did the free upstairs downstairs tour which cleverly took you through several staged rooms with av presentations that outlined the history of the building and its owners. We then did the "other side" of the building where there is something for anyone's preferences - clocks, tapestries, carpets, portraits, china, tea sets, persian pottery, sculptures, cradles, tables, silver, the library, a Winston Churchill display and more!!! Plus the gardens with plenty of spaces to explore - my favourite part was the secret garden, but the formal gardens were impressive too. We even took the 50p train called Winston over to the pleasure gardens but the rain set in quite heavily so we admired the maze but could not finish it. But the model village there was lovely to look at!

One last tip - if you are on the North side of Oxford, it is worth making the run over to Wolvercote Cemetery to see the graves of JRR Tolkien and his wife (see separate review).

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank Lissel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Social Media Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace and to share your feedback with us. We are to delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and explored so much of the Palace and grounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

I believe this is a must see place to visit if you are in this part of the world.beautiful palace with amazing grounds.
The palace also has a section of the life of the great Sir Winston Churchills. Very informative. A definitely must visit tourist site.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank gregwF5541EL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Social Media Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace. We are pleased that you enjoyed exploring the gardens and discovering our history.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We spent 2 hours here not enough to see all the attractions, worth a few more hours. Definitely a fantastic place to visit.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Alien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Social Media Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace and to share your feedback with us. We're delighted you enjoyed your experience and we hope to welcome you back soon to continue exploring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful day out at Blenheim Palace, despite the Palace being closed due to filming there was so much more todo. The surroundings are spectacular, beautiful lakes and walks. The gift shops, food venues, facilities etc are all of a very high standard.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank U3362MYianh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Social Media Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace and to share your feedback with us. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your day overall and hope we can welcome you back soon to continue exploring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We have loved visiting Blenheim Palace since our first visit and return every chance we get. Make a day of it. Get a tour. Enjoy some scones in one of the eateries. And definitely walk the grounds. Shout out to Jackie Jones who was a knowledgeable and altogether fabulous tour guide!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank GaraLacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Social Media Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for leaving a review following your recent visit to Blenheim Palace. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back soon to continue exploring all we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews