We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tina S
2 reviews
“A beautiful home from home”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your beautiful house. We really were very comfortable. It was an ideal location, just a short walk from the centre of Oxford and, crucially, with somewhere to park the car. It was an unexpected pleasure to each have our own bathrooms and to find a lovely Aga in your kitchen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Car park is a good 5 minute walk away.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fran4ray
Dewsbury, England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A warm and comfortable house in a covenient area”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We were very grateful to Jan for rebooking our stay after illness had caused us to miss our original booking. He was extremely helpful during our stay, and the managed parking was extremely useful..
The house itself is very spacious, well-equipped and very warm, especially the kitchen-many thanks to the Aga! The sitting area is very comfortable with a very large modern tv, and a convenient toilet nearby. We also liked the full bookcases throughout the house.
Our bedroom was on the first floor, and was large and well-fitted, with a very comfortable bed. The adjoining ensuite bathroom is large and very modern, with a plentiful supply of towels.
It is situated in an area convenient to central Oxford, with a regular bus service from a nearby stop. We particularly enjoyed the Cowley street area parallel to the street in which the house is situated=plenty of restaurants of all cuisines-we had a delicious Nepalese meal.
We look forward to staying here on our next visit to Oxford.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTSeats
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
“All the comforts of home & walking distance to everything you need.”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This Victorian era townhouse is approximately one mile from the center of Oxford. It has all the conveniences of home including a washer and dryer and an outside patio with a table and chairs. There are two iron gates at the entrance - the first a step up from the sidewalk and another just a few steps up from that. As you enter the main level there is a study that faces the street with a spiral staircase leading to the basement. The staircase is very narrow but the basement is a fairly sizable space with its own TV, shower, toilet & Queen size type of sofabed.

Beyond the study on the main level are stairs that lead to the upstairs bedrooms and an area that opens to the main living space which includes a TV room with sofa and chairs. Opposite the TV room is the kitchen with a decent sized table, refrigerator and AGA stove.

The AGA stove . . . never seen or even heard of these but it remains on 24 hours a day and puts off a decent amount of heat. Plates are stored in one of its compartments to keep them hot and there are two hotplates covered with hinged lids that are always hot. Hot water for tea or anything else you may cook warms very fast. The radiant heat generated by this stove/oven is substantial filling the room with a very warm, enveloping heat. The AGA is rather novel but depending upon your environmental flavor, this can be either good or bad. My wife and her elderly parents loved it - I found it a little too much. Consequently, they slept in the upstairs bedrooms (master - one level up, and another one level up from that). I slept in the basement where it was nice and cold.

Overall, we all found the place to be wonderful. It was a classic Oxford, English experience. My main complaint was the lack of information provided prior to the trip after I paid in full. Citing reasons of security, I was told by the son of the owner to contact him a week before our arrival and he would then give me the street address. That would have been fine but when I did reach out the week before he was on holiday. Were it not for this hassle I would have given it an "excellent" rating. The owner was extremely accommodating and helpful. Once on site, she gave us her cell phone and recommendations for restaurants and getting around.

Extras:

A private Taxi cost just under 5 pounds to get to the center of town. On several occasions we just walked. Around the corner is Cowley street with restaurants, grocery markets and pharmacies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Communcation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim2508
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Oxford is a fantastic city and this beautiful Oxford Townhouse is right in the middle of it, with easy access to the centre, the universities and the restaurants, all within walking distance. The owner is very helpful and helped us out with practical details and a parking arrangement.
So thank you Lee for a nice holiday in Oxford:-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing