We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house, perfect for a large group”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Garden Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
18 reviews
Lounge
Garden
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Conservatory/ dining room
Conservatory/ dining room
Ground floor double
2nd floor bunks
2nd floor double
1st floor twin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
FEDPAR201...
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family holiday spolied. Very disappointing accommodation.”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The number of Boars Hill House Defects spoiled the Christmas holiday which had been planned for months. Family travelled from Australia and the USA to share this time. Many of the problems listed below we later discovered had been reported by previous guests but had not been fixed.

Broken light bollard on back deck
Kenwood cake mixer does not work
Two lights over sink do not work
Range hood over stove does not work
Dishwasher top spray arm worn & clashes on top tray, does not wash well
Shower screen on first floor shower recess is broken
Toilet seat in first floor bathroom broken
Carpets dirty/spotted
No sharp/carving knives
Limited glasses
Rubbish bin lid does not close
Door on cupboard under sink broke,
No dishwashing liquid or soap
Refrigerator and oven dirty (baked on food on over trays)
Mould in kitchen cupboards
Mould in first floor bathroom
No grate on drain from first floor shower
Water backs up in first floor shower base before draining
Smoke detector hanging from ceiling
No clothes dryer as advertised
No documented instructions on how to dispose of rubbish, operate the heating or other basic functions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Lack of cleanliness and falsely advertised amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely house, perfect for a large group”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We hired this house the weekend of our wedding to house three bridesmaids plus partners plus me the night before and of the wedding. We had several people popping in and out during that time and I was really pleased to find the house was immaculately clean with lovely decor and all the facilities we could need. Everyone said how nice the place was and it was a great place to get ready before the wedding. I would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrinkled3...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Sitable”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The house was good for our purposes. It was clean and comfortable.The shower door in the en-suite bedroom should have been fixed before letting. It should have been properly equipped with cutlery etc. five forks for 8 adults is not good enough and matching cutlery would have been an improvement on the hotchpotch that was there. But we still enjoyed our stay there and it served our purposes adequately. Thank you Katrina.
PS the fire alarm is still suspended on electric cables

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticShr...
Shrewsbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could be so much better”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a fine house for up to 8 people and we enjoyed our overall stay. It is well equipped and very clean. However, the house does have a number of irritating failings that could so easily be rectified.
On a safety front the fire alarm was not working and was hanging from the ceiling. A light post on the veranda was lying, broken on the floor. There are damaged items in the kitchen, the clock and an ornament which should be removed as they give the wrong impression. The SKY TV did not work due to lack of reception. The cat flap has no cover allowing cats to enter! The top bathroom bath only drained very very slowly. There were no loo rolls and a bulb was out in the downstairs toilet. Add to this the bins were already full from the last occupants and you can see we had reason to be a little disappointed in our accommodation.
Fortunately we were down for a family wedding and we had much time spent away from the property, but if it were taken for a week or two the issues may seem much more important.
I would advise the manager of this property to address these issues asap or it will not attract customers who read these sort of reviews.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall space and cleanliness
Liked least: So many things that were broken or did not work, safety issues
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for a big group (if some of you don't mind sharing beds!)”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We rented the property as the base for a fairly relaxed stag-do with 8 people, and it suited us perfectly.
Nice and close to Oxford by cab (£10-£15), Co-Op round the corner for drinks, and close enough to Abingdon to get some good takeaway.
Lovely big conservatory so everyone can chill out together (the lounge only seats 4/5).
Everyone was really happy with the property, although it did get rather warm at night, so remember to open the windows!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large conservatory
Liked least: No dishwasher tablets
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing