We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming character cottage in quintessentially...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The Gardiner Arms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
AJHUCK
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming character cottage in quintessentially English village”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in the Buff's Lodge for one week upon moving to Oxfordshire from the US. The accommodation was great: roomy, wifi, character, convenience (train station to Oxford only 5 min walk away). Keith was amazingly helpful, driving us to get groceries the first day as well as offering advice and help looking for a car to buy. The local park was a favorite for our teen and tween kids. We also loved exploring the canal walk nearby, the ancient St. Nicholas church and other local landmarks. Definitely recommend staying here- you will love it!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo-Peep38...
Mona Vale, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway.”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Myself, my husband, my son and his partner stayed at The Buffs' Lodge for 5 nights and used it as a base to explore Oxford, The Cotswolds and London.
Although most of our days were spent out of the cottage, it was such a lovely place to come back to at the end of the day.
The cottage is beautifully clean, spacious, well equipped and very homely. There were nice touches like a selection of good books, maps of the local area, games and a few DVD's. The beds are very comfortable allowing for a good night's sleep. The little garden is so pretty and is a lovely place to sit with a cup of tea or a glass of wine and listen to the birds singing.
The location is so peaceful and the train station being just a few minutes walk away is very convenient for trips into Oxford or London.
Keith, the owner, is very friendly and helpful, providing advice on places to eat in the local area and answering questions.
I wholeheartedly recommend this accommodation and would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suenied
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A beautiful little cottage, ideal for 3 or 4 people, comfortable and tastefully furnished, with lovely countryside around and convenient for Oxford. We especially appreciated the welcome given by our host with little personal touches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ofelia M
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay in a great accommodation.”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We arrived a bit too early but were greeted friendly nevertheless. Keith showed us our accommodation and where to find the utensils, etc. We liked the location and enjoyed our stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the host.
Liked least: We liked everything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bert501
Houten, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Excellent accommodation and Keith is a friendly and helpful host.”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What more can we add to all the positive comments. The owner always replied the same day. We had an excellent stay and Keith made us feel very welcome. The property is very clean and well furnished. We have no negative comments and certainly hope to visit Buffs' Lodge again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole atmosphere and the hospitality of the owner.
Liked least: We had no less positive experiences
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$167
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing