We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The White House

Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Kitchen
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Dining room
Dining room with view through kitchen to lounge
Kitchen
Ensuite bathroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
shower room
single bedroom - top floor
single bedroom - top floor
top floor
single bedroom
The White House
The path to town through the park
The River Cherwell, half way to town center across the park
Horses grazing 200m from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Vacation6...
1 review
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely house and great location. Hire a bike for the week and a lovely cycle into town. Would definitely stay again next time I'm in Oxford

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggieand...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect house for family reunion.”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The house was the perfect size for our family reunion (6 adults, one child and one baby). Ideally located, just a 20 minute walk into central Oxford and a lovely walk through the parks at the end of the road.
We have booked again for later in the year.
Thank you Hanna.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Thank you very much for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerAlix...
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, Affordable, and Close to City Center”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our hostess met us when we arrived to show us around and explain how a few things worked (the stove/oven, the garbage management scheme, etc.), and she was very friendly. She was also very flexible, adjusting the time to pick up the keys without complaint when our schedule changed a bit.

The house was clean and comfortable. With dining room, living room, kitchen, multiple bathrooms (one ensuite in the master bedroom) and an outdoor patio, this was a home away from home. We didn't use all of the bedrooms (there were only three of us, and the house sleeps eight), but we used the rest of the space and it was very comfortable. Some of the furniture was a little "broken in", but that just made it more comfortable for my tastes. It also came complete with a range of cleaning supplies for laundry and dishes, as well as a collection of spices and condiments so we didn't have to waste money buying all new ones.

The house includes access to a garage, but we just parked on the street. Parking restrictions require a permit to park on the main road in front of the house between 9 AM and 5 PM Mon-Fri, but since our car was away from the house during those times anyway, it was not an issue for us.

There were several nearby shops for stocking the kitchen with the basics and a fish-and-chips restaurant not far down the road, but the best part was the relatively short walk to the city center -- only 15-20 minutes walk along a paved (and lit!) bike path through some fields and over branches of the Thames and you find yourself on the edge of Oxford University, its historical buildings, and its gardens. And from there it's a short additional walk to some great restaurants and museums.

Add all that to the very low price compared to similar properties, and it's a deal that's incredibly hard to beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Short walk to city center
Liked least: We noticed a faint, musty odor in the living room on cloudy/rainy days (of which we only had one during our visit).
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your nice and very helpful review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pablociou...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spacious, very convenient location for pleasant walking into Oxford.”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Very generous accomodation for our family of eight people, clean, comfortable and well equipped. It is in a pleasnt and quiet area, near the Marston cycleway and footpath, which is a lovely route into town, crossing the river Cherwell.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Expensive because of location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelSid...
sidcup
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay to visit Oxford”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were 5 friends from a book club who came to stay to visit the Oxford Literary Festival. The accommodation was very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped. The lounge and dining room were spacious. We loved the walk to Oxford through the water meadows. It takes about 15mins and is a really pretty walk, ending up by the museums in Oxford.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: The garden
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing