We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely gorgeous cottage in the cotswolds”
other travellers have booked this property
The Granary- All Accommodation Ground Floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Granary- All Accommodation Ground Floor
Enclosed Garden with Open Garden Beyond Adjacent Cottage - The Stables 3/4 Bed 95457
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The Granary- All Accommodation Ground Floor
Enclosed Garden with Open Garden Beyond
Adjacent Cottage - The Stables 3/4 Bed 95457
The Cottages Elevation
The Collection of Converted Barns Dating Back to 1790
The Barns in the Snow!
View of the Cottages from Alvescot Downs
The Neighbours
Ample Parking Directly Adjacent to the Cottage
Lounge
Lounge with Sofa and 2 Armchairs
Kitchen
Dining Area
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
The Hayloft Suite- Available on request
The Hayloft En-Suite Guest Suite
The Hayloft En-Suite Guest Suite
The Hayloft En-Suite Guest Suite
The Hayloft Seating Area with TV
The Hayloft Kitchenette
The Hayloft En-Suite
The Hayloft En-Suite
The Saddlery Disabled Friendly Suite- Available on request
The Saddlery Disabled Friendly Suite
The Saddlery Seating Area
The Saddlery Seating Area
The Saddlery Kitchenette
The Saddlery Wet Room
The Saddlery Wet Room
The Saddlery Optional Twin Annex
The Games Room Also has an Additional Washer, Dryer and Freezer
The Games Room Features Fitness Machines, Table Tennis, Pool and Darts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Burford, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
feurteven...
1 review
“Absolutely gorgeous cottage in the cotswolds”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed in the granary for 3 weeks in between moves. We couldnt have stayed anywhere better. Extremely clean, warm with lovely underfloor heating making a lovely cosy feel. Everything we needed. The owners were very accomodating. The cottage is surrounded by beautiful countryside so very peaceful. Would highly recommend staying here to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
We are so glad that you were comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you are settled in your new home. Many thanks for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolan152
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal cottage - comfortable, clean and well equipped”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed for three nights as a short getaway with our one year old. The cottage was great - enough space, very comfortable and in a beautiful countryside location, despite being close to the town. Loads of info provided by the very helpful owners too. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thank you for your very kind words and for being such easy guests. We are so glad you had a great time and we really hope that you will return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rozlyn W
Russell, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Retreat in The Cotswolds”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

You could not fault the beauty of the area. The cottage, The Granary, was extremely well equipped with everything imaginable. We could have entertained 12. It was very peaceful. The rooms were good although I did not like having a baby cot and highchair in the room. There was certainly nowhere else to put it. The shared garden did pose problems. It destroyed our privacy. The cottage that shared the garden changed guests twice and accommodated six people. You could have any kind of group there. There was adequate parking. A three mile walk across the fields led you to the delightful village of Skipton. The Rose and Crown pub served excellent food. A large group of people could stay here and booking both cottages would be ideal.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Thanks for your review- much appreciated. We are glad you liked the area and the cottage. We have taken the cot out for people when asked, but the double room is quite large and it's tucked in a corner, so most are happy to leave it. We put the high chair in the cot, so it's out of the way for people who don't need it, but still available for those that do. We have parking for 7 cars, plus overflow in front of our house next door, which means we can accommodate parties with multiple cars for both cottages. The shared garden is fenced and intended as a safe area for small children or dogs. There is a larger garden open alongside, with seating and views, which our guests use and the other cottage also has a door on the south side with a patio and external seating. Often people are not in or wanting to use the enclosed garden at the same time, but if they do, they usually rub along, as they do sharing the games room. There's space for all. The Granary lounge fronts on to the enclosed garden, but it has full height curtains with heavy black out linings for privacy and noise protection. Not many cottages are completely isolated from other properties or people. Still, having said all that, if you encountered particular issues, we apologise- certainly August has been busy. We want all our guests to have a good time. We hope you will come back and if so, I am sure we can sort something out and if there are any issues during your stay, do come and tell us- we are only next door. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahH555...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice but needed some TLC inside”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The accommodation itself was lovely and clean.

However, internally some TLC was required. The mattress in the main bedroom needed replacing as the springs had gone and the fridge was on constantly working overtime and extremely noisy (so much that it woke my 2 young children up).

However, that said the rest of the accommodation was lovely and functional.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mattress in main bedroom and fridge noise (needs replacing)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thanks for your review. After your visit, we noticed that the fridge had been turned up to the maximum setting and that is why it was noisy. The freezer compartment was also not properly closed and so had iced up (it had recently been defrosted). This was making the fridge work overtime. After defrosting again it was quiet again. We will check the mattress, but it is not old and it wasn't low cost. If it needs replacing, we will do it of course, but we do find that mattresses are quite personal and we are sorry it didn't work for you. Once before, the central bed support had become dislodged, due to guests moving furniture to fit in an extra guest, which affected the mattress in the middle and made the springs stick out. We will check for that, in case a recent past guest had done so. We think your review relates to the specific issues you encountered, but it may sound to some like you are suggesting the cottage is unloved generally. Therefore, just to say, we are constantly upgrading the cottage and it's recently been painted and provided with a new larger TV and bathroom fan. We even put in a brand new DVD player especially for your family, with a couple of days notice before your stay, as the new TV was without an integrated one and you said your children would like to play DVDs during their holiday. We even provided a range of DVDs and books in our games room for your use. New blinds are on order and being fitted soon and all the gloss work will be painted shortly. We have also just put in some new gym equipment, so you see the TLC is ongoing.
We do find that if people have problems, it is better to raise them with us during the holiday- we can often resolve them for you and we are only next door. Thanks again for your review. We hope you will return, as we are sure the issues you raise can be resolved.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna K
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully well equipped holiday home in great location”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A wonderful weekend. We stayed with a small baby and 2 dogs and couldn't have been more comfortable and well catered for. The cottages we're perfect...brilliantly thought out and fully equipped. Beautiful surroundings and so much to see and do...we couldn't have wanted for more! Superb communication with owners...full of useful info on surrounding area. Would highly recommend to all!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad you had a lovely weekend and we hope you will come back soon. We do try to provide as much detail as we can and when we are asked a particular question, which we think would be relevant to others, we add the answer to the general information we send out. We are glad that is useful. Many thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$133
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing