We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Burford Lodge(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Oak(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Highway Inn(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Bull at Burford(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cotswold Gateway Hotel(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Maytime Inn(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fox Inn(Burford)
US$159
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamb Inn(Burford)
US$280
US$272
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
188
83
23
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
83
23
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian bistrohigh streetfour poster bedthe main streetseparate showerwarm welcomeroom was largelovely hotelnew ownersbreakfast was amazingfull englishsandwichlots of characterlovely townscallopslambcotswolds
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2018

We arrived late in the afternoon with little knowledge of where we were and nowhere to stay. We stopped in at the information office and were surprised at their attitude. They were very selective in their recommendations and at no time mentioned Burford House which we accidently came across ourselves. We were welcomed by a friendly woman who quickly arranged a room for us got a gentleman to help with our luggage up the stairs and gave us tips as to where to park without a fine. The room was excellent with a beautiful four poster bed very clean and a great view of the medieval buildings in the high street. The young girls on staff all of them were bubbly bright and just lovely. They all provided excellent service and went out of their way to make sure we had all that we needed. Breakfast each morning was cooked fresh and delicious. The dinner at night in the dining room was also delicious. We would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: We had a beatiful large room at the front iit was lovely. Huge Bath.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Mark and Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burf123, Manager at Burford House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for such wonderful feedback. We are pleased that the staff, food & accommodation met all your needs.
We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

Cosy and relaxing place to stop for lunch. Pleasant staff and great food. Lovely old building. Nice to step out from the busy high street into a calm place when you have been travelling. Second time here and prefer it to the famous tea shop over the road where you often have to queue

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Goldens127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Burford House is a genuine "olde worldy" property on the high street of Burford in the Cotswolds. From there you can easily visit all the pretty places around and they are genuinely lovely.

There is only one negative to Burford House and that is parking, so drive up and park on the yellow line and drop off your luggage. Parking in Burford is free and there is a Car Park near at hand and all street parking is free so it is not a big deal.

What appealed to us was the very warm feel that the owners have created. As you enter the bar /lobby, the homemade scones and cakes, which are laid out elegantly, tempt you and we succumbed very easily!

There is an excellent restaurant where breakfast and dinner are served and our breakfast was of the highest order and the service quite excellent. Because of the age of the property, one could be forgiven for thinking that you were being looked after at a "country home".

The lounge and outside courtyard area are great and the garden is a suntrap until lunchtime.

We were in an Easterly facing bedroom (at the back) and the morning sun streamed into our windows. There are bigger rooms at the front of the hotel facing the high street but in the evening and night time there is very little traffic, so I doubt that noise would be much of an issue.

Everything in this venue is traditional and very English. Do not look for "modern" as it isn't here but the charm and warmth of the whole experience is top class.

Ideal for international tourists who are looking for a flavour of Old England and it is brilliantly located. Value for money is very fair for something as special as this.

We would go back in a heartbeat.

Surreytraveller30

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surreytraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Had a brief stay in the middle of a long journey. Hot tea, home made soup, fresh bread and hummous really hit the spot. Very tasty food. Definitely much better than a motorway service station (always assuming you can find parking space in busy Burford of course!).

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccooper8901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Located at 99 High Street, Burford, the place is strategically situated on the main road of the picturesque town of Burford.

It was mid afternoon already and our family was quite hungry. We ordered pizza and some other food. Oh boy, the 4 cheese pizza was the best we have ever eaten in UK. It was very tasty and delicious. We consumed every single morsel of it. Staff was very warm and friendly. Perfect stopover in Cotswolds.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews