We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
196
84
24
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
84
24
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street italian bistro four poster bed scones the main street separate shower warm welcome birthday weekend room was large lovely hotel new owners breakfast was amazing full english sandwich lots of character scallops lovely town
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018

Cosy and relaxing place to stop for lunch. Pleasant staff and great food. Lovely old building. Nice to step out from the busy high street into a calm place when you have been travelling. Second time here and prefer it to the famous tea shop over the road where you often have to queue

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Goldens127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Burford House is a genuine "olde worldy" property on the high street of Burford in the Cotswolds. From there you can easily visit all the pretty places around and they are genuinely lovely.

There is only one negative to Burford House and that is parking, so drive up and park on the yellow line and drop off your luggage. Parking in Burford is free and there is a Car Park near at hand and all street parking is free so it is not a big deal.

What appealed to us was the very warm feel that the owners have created. As you enter the bar /lobby, the homemade scones and cakes, which are laid out elegantly, tempt you and we succumbed very easily!

There is an excellent restaurant where breakfast and dinner are served and our breakfast was of the highest order and the service quite excellent. Because of the age of the property, one could be forgiven for thinking that you were being looked after at a "country home".

The lounge and outside courtyard area are great and the garden is a suntrap until lunchtime.

We were in an Easterly facing bedroom (at the back) and the morning sun streamed into our windows. There are bigger rooms at the front of the hotel facing the high street but in the evening and night time there is very little traffic, so I doubt that noise would be much of an issue.

Everything in this venue is traditional and very English. Do not look for "modern" as it isn't here but the charm and warmth of the whole experience is top class.

Ideal for international tourists who are looking for a flavour of Old England and it is brilliantly located. Value for money is very fair for something as special as this.

We would go back in a heartbeat.

Surreytraveller30

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surreytraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Had a brief stay in the middle of a long journey. Hot tea, home made soup, fresh bread and hummous really hit the spot. Very tasty food. Definitely much better than a motorway service station (always assuming you can find parking space in busy Burford of course!).

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccooper8901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Located at 99 High Street, Burford, the place is strategically situated on the main road of the picturesque town of Burford.

It was mid afternoon already and our family was quite hungry. We ordered pizza and some other food. Oh boy, the 4 cheese pizza was the best we have ever eaten in UK. It was very tasty and delicious. We consumed every single morsel of it. Staff was very warm and friendly. Perfect stopover in Cotswolds.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

No warm welcome here for us! We were barely through the door when the owner/landlady demanded payment for our two night stay. When I told her that I had already paid upfront and in full, she didn't believe me! I had to show her my online booking receipt and her colleague had to explain to her how the online payment system worked. One would expect an apology from the host at this point yes? Not this lady! She laughed out loud that she'd missed out on an opportunity to be paid twice! I am pleased to report that I didn't buy anything to eat or drink at this establishment and spent my money elsewhere

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank NickWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews