We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,890)
Filter reviews
1,890 results
Traveller rating
1,314
439
102
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,314
439
102
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel peel street car park complimentary chocolate rainfall shower mini fridge sky tv fresh milk chocolate bar nespresso machine robes and slippers short walk superior room city centre huge bed bars and restaurants would definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 1,890 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night midweek. Great location in the city centre but the parking is on some run down yard 5 minutes away. Better to park in Fleet St which is cheaper and has more spaces. The hotel is lovely and very quirky but the beds are high up and very uncomfortable with very hard mattresses! We had three rooms and all of us thought that the beds were awful, lumpy and we all had very little sleep. My daughter got so fed up that she walked back to her student house nearby in the middle of the night! It didn’t quite end up the treat that we were looking forward to. We are IHG platinum members and have stayed in more comfortable Holiday Inn Express hotel beds to be honest

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank westie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Hi westie17,

It's a lovely day, thanks for choosing to stay with us. I'm glad you found our hotel aesthetically pleasing and that our location is to your liking! On the downside, I'm sorry to learn that our beds weren't comfortable enough. The inconvenience this caused isn't what we expected and I've relayed your feedback with the team. Comments like yours help us spot areas that need additional TLC.

Thanks for sharing your experience. I hope we soon get the chance to make your next stay better than the last.

Kind regards,

Jillian I
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

We stayed at the Hotel Indigo in York for 2 nights on our way south from Edinburgh! I had booked the room directly through the hotel as I am an IHG member. The exterior of the hotel is pretty unassuming. Check in was friendly and efficient. Our room was not over generous, but it was perfect for our needs and well appointed. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room was very quiet. We enjoyed the decor and the vibe. We had the included breakfast both mornings and thought that the continental fare was fresh and varied and the hot offerings were well prepared and ample. The parking is a bit hinkey, but we bypassed the Hotel Indigo's dedicated lot in favor of the pay lot right next door off of George St. it was also £3 cheaper per night. You can book the car park on your smart phone so it was very convenient and just a short a walk to the hotel. The hotel is on Walmgate which is kind of a restaurant row and within easy walking distance to most of the primary sites. Check out was also straightforward and we appreciated being able to leave our luggage at the front desk until we were ready to hit the road again. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gmwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoYork, Receptionist at Hotel Indigo York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to write this fab review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, particularly your room and the breakfast selection provided. It is nice to hear that the location was handy for you, and that you were able to enjoy the attractions and restaurants that York has to offer.

Thank you for saying that you would return - we would love to welcome you back!

Best Wishes,
Meg
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

This is a nice hotel in a quiet area of York but still within easy walking distance of the city centre / shambles walls etc, lovely continental breakfast, and quiet bar area.Ideal if you want a bit of peace in a busy city.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank mckenziebrian32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoYork, Receptionist at Hotel Indigo York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Hello,

Thank you for this review! It is great to hear that the location was perfect for you and that you enjoyed your breakfast. We hope you will choose to stay with us again some time in the future!

Kind Regards,
Meg
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Had another great mini break at this hotel.Room was immaculate and very comfortable.

Breakfast was lovely with a amazing choice of hot and cold foods. We even tried the fresh smoothies on offer along with the freshly squeezed Orange juice.

The hotel's in a good location with plenty of pubs and restaurants close by.

All reception staff, waitress's and maids are so nice and efficient at this hotel.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mcbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoYork, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Hi Mcbarbie,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay and experience with us. We really appreciate your recommendation.

Best Wishes,
Leanne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night. Very friendly staff. Nice bar area had a litttle dinner there couple drinks all good. Parking is slightly confusing but I think it’s cheaper to park at the Fleet Street car park just round the corner. It’s like £9 for 24 hours where as the hotel I think was something like £14? But that’s all cool with me whatever is easier really.

The breakfast was PENG!!!!! So nice unfortunately filled up on eggs and salmon so couldn’t eat ma muffin lol. I’d stay again

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ged B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoYork, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thank you so much for your comments Ged B. We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed your breakfast experience, its a little bit special don't you think too?

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Wishes,
Leanne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews