We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay with a toddler”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Squirrel Nest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Anna G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay with a toddler”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay. The location is very close to an excellent bus service into York center and our little one enjoyed the bus ride. This apartment is the last stop on the bus so it's easy to get a seat going into town and room for a pushchair. The cake and milk etc meant we could pack light and have something to eat when we arrived. The hens and rabbits were a big hit. The shower was fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipRic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfully charming and cosy holiday home, perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderful holiday home which exceeded our expectations, perfect in every way! Beautifully positioned with views of the countryside, yet so close to York and all its attractions. Jill and Steve made us very welcome, and all the extra touches including the yummy homemade cake made our stay very special, thank you! We really wished we had booked a longer stay, and can't recommend Squirrel Nest highly enough. I left something behind, and Jill kindly sent it back to me. We really hope we can return, and have raved about Squirrel Nest to all our family and friends!
Would recommend using the Park & Ride rather than driving into York.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Thanks for the great review Viv, it was a pleasure having you to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nickJ2649...
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent & Restfull Self Catering Accomodation”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautifully appointed Self Contained accommodation - perfectly located for visiting York with added bonus of enjoying a beautiful rural location.

Owners were very welcoming and had given a lot of attention to the details that made for a perfect break

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRLinton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five star service throughout.”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a week in this superb apartment.As reported in previous reviews this is a great place to stay for a break in York.Away from the hustle and bustle but only a 40 minute walk or a short bus ride into York centre.Jill and Steve are great host who leave you to enjoy your break but are there on hand if required.I would recommend this apartment to any discerning holidaymakers who would like to stay somewhere that is like a home from home.Jill has thought of everything that you need and her cake was delicious.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing