We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - York
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 03/08
20:00
Ranked #104 of 930 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

3 of us and a baby had afternoon tea, nothing seemed to much trouble. High chair for the baby and push chair stored.
We all had the most fantastic time. Staff, food and whole experience was wonderful

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (7,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 7,329 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

We have been to Betty's before and found the entire thing magical, however on our latest visit we felt rushed and made to feel a tad uncomfortable despite ordering food and drink. The lady who served us was lovely but the managers who kept staring and making it very clear they wanted us to move made us uncomfortable to say the very least

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Toni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2021

Popped in yesterday visiting with some friends, for Afternoon Tea and a few other little treats. We got to Betty’s just before 12pm, so near enough walked straight in. We were quite thankful as after this time the queue to get in went round the corner.

Fabulous customer service shown by the staff, and the Afternoon Tea was delicious. The only niggles I would say, the clotted cream that you are given for the scone - is only enough for one half, so a little more would be lovely (considering the price) and a choice of cake would also be quite nice. The only cake we liked was the chocolate mousse one!

We also wanted to visit and buy a few things from the shop, however we were told we had to go outside to join another queue… even though we had already spent a fair amount and were already inside, so we just went about our day.

Date of visit: June 2021
2  Thank RJHender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

Beautiful afternoon tea, all the food was beautifully laid out and very tasty. We got a fat rascal to share, that was amazing! Service excellent, Covid safe and you do need to book a bit in advance.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank slimdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Betty’s for breakfast this morning. From the moment we were welcomed in the door, spotless and beautiful venue, excellent customer service (professional, knowledgeable and friendly, nothing was too much trouble). It was my boyfriends birthday and we enjoyed the Imperial breakfast. Delicious rosti with bacon and poached egg, cinnamon toasted fruit loaf, Bircher muesli and melt in the mouth pain au chocolat. We also took a Fat Rascal away with us.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank LadyRoughDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - York also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.