We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 8 Merchants Place

A view of the overall location of the apartment, which is in the block on the right.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of the overall location of the apartment, which is in the block on the right.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
A view of the overall location of the apartment, which is in the block on the right.
The lounge has a great view of the Merchants Adventurers' Hall
The balcony is very safe - our 2 year old loves it…throws bread to the swans!
The view of Cliffords tower, looking left from the balcony
Secured paved entrance
View from the balcony
View from the balcony
The master bedroom also has river views
Both bedrooms have large amount of storage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Meggymoo0...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We are a family of 4 with two teenage daughters who rented this apartment for 4 nights during our half term in October. Apartment location could not be better in terms of sigtseeing and shopping. 2 minutes walk from the bottom of the shambles and main shopping area. A tesco extra on the corner and plenty of good restaurants and cafés in the immediate vicinity. The apartment itself has been finished to a high standard and is very well equipped. Especially liked the small touches like cleaning materials and the lovely hand soap and shower gel provided. Also enjoyed the croissants and jam and marmalade from a local deli. Nice views over the canal, my daughter loved feeding the ducks from the balcony. Would definitely recommend and will return in the future. Thanks again.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake0905
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic modern well located apartment!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Chose York to bring my 93 yr old mam for a short break, as my sister lives there! This apartment ticked all the boxes, & was everything the pictures & description stated. Spacious, modern, well equipped, clean, 2 lovely double bedroom's with plenty of storage & bathroom always warm,which was ideal for my mam & shower was great. Also easy for manouvering the wheelchair & Zimmer Frame around in lounge & hall, also kitchen well eqipped, with a Neff cooker, the same as mine, so it was like being at home. Secure building & well located, it was great to be given free car pass by owners, & car park only minutes walk away through cut next to back of fenwicks, across the road from apartment. Only thing is you need to drop off luggage & passengers, as in a very busy area & can't leave car unattended. I managed with the help of housekeeepers Debbie & Richard, which was very kind! Well worth the money, & had a very relaxing, chill out weeked with my mam & husband, in really pleasant surrounding, also enjoyed feeding & listening to the ducks with a fantastic view of the river foss & gardens!. Definitely go back & will recommend to friends & family!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John D
Dunbar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely city centre apartment with beautiful view”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The flat is in a fantastic location just 2 minutes from the city centre and right next to all the restaurants on Walmgate and the beautiful Merchant Adventurers hall. We stayed for 3 nights and found the flat to be perfect for our city break. The two bedrooms allowed my parents to stay over with us as well. Both bedrooms are of a good size with comfy double beds and nice touches that made you feel at home. The view of the Merchant Adventures hall from the balcony is lovely and we had a great stay with no problems and would happily stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassado...
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
According to google translate this is the feedback;

We loved this apartment we rented in York. The photos really reflect what we found . It is a comfortable and spacious apartment . Very comfortable beds. Apartment very well equipped . Only make a comment to sofas , because they are small and inconvenient . The price is expensive , but worth paying . The owners were very good with us. We moved the iron when we asked and we cleaned the apartment at 6 days of being lodged. The apartment is in the center of York , but in a quiet area . York and the surrounding area there are many activities to do. We were 12 days and no time left over us . The apartment was a good choice for our holiday.

From us:

Thankyou! It was a pleasure and I am really happy you enjoyed your stay. Do come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing