We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay!”

Review of Waverley

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
75 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

warkworth...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very tired and cluttered..more shabby than chic”
Reviewed 31 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First the positives..the owner was very friendly and accomodating.it was very easy to park up in the street and leave the car for the duration of the stay as parking permits were provided..the house is close to city centre too..it was very nice and warm and the log fire was a lovely bonus..the beds were clean and comfy and towels provided..the owner also left a welcome cake for all the guests,
the negatives...the interior was more shabby than chic..basically it needed a jolly good clean and declutter..when we arrived we had to clean all the mugs..which were badly stained with coffee and tea..this was easily achieved in the dishwasher..
the bathrooms were grimy..around the taps and tiles,, easily cleaned by bleach.
the attic bathroom was especially bad..the floor was disgusting, with black grime in the corners.
there was a motley collection of empty jars on shelving in the kitchen and dusty dried flower arrangements in the bedroom..the house would be nightmare for anyone suffering from allergies or asthma.
There were various mock furry rugs in the bedrooms,, which were dirty..and a large rug in the lounge which we rolled up and pushed under the couch, as it was so questionable.
when we pulled out a trio of clear plastic side tables in the lounge, they were so dirty we had to clean them before using them..
on a plus side the house could be amazing if it were updated and properly cleaned and decluttered.

Date of stay: January 2015
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We were pleased you found the house well located, warm and comfortable. However, we were disappointed to read your criticisms as it is the first time we have had such comments, or any complaints about the standard of cleanliness. We will certainly investigate what you say. Incidentally the "mock furry rugs" are actually 100% wool flokatis from John Lewis.
I'm sorry that you found the house not to your taste. The style is not intended to be minimalist or corporate (there are other places in York for that). It is meant to be cosy and homely, which most of our visitors want and appreciate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

5 of us booked this last minute. We loved the look of the house and we were not dissapointed when we arrived. Every room is immaculate and the decor made it feel cosy and homely. Loved every minute, we wish we had booked a longer stay. Will definitely be returning

Date of stay: January 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2015
You will be very welcome to come again. Hope the weather is better next time. Thanks for the nice review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibyl W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Location is perfect, walking distance to everywhere interested in York.
Amenities are well arranged and included, nothing is shorted.
Only thing is the staircase is a bit steep, don't bring elderly travelers here.

Date of stay: December 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2015
Pleased you were able to see quite a bit of York while in this country. We do warn about the stairs although we have had an 80+ year old who managed fine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice G
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfortable beds near York centre”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Great if you need three double bedrooms. Well priced for an excellent level of comfort. It was well heated and also had a woodburning stove. Need to be fit for the precipitous stairs though. Very friendly and helpful owners who came to the rescue when our taxi did not arrive (not too far to walk but we had lot of luggage). Quiet location for a property this close to the centre.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds
Liked least: Very steep stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vc2468
Blair Atholl, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, generous hosts”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

A super little house with plenty room for me and two girlfriends. I especially liked the ease of access to the town, the wood burning stove and supply of games, and most of all the kindness of the hosts who helped us at short notice when a local taxi firm (getaway cabs) let us down. Thank you!!

Date of stay: December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2015
Fortunately we were around when the taxi let you down, and were able to get you to the station just in time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.