We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic breakfast ”
Review of Osbornes at 68

Osbornes at 68
Ranked #45 of 938 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Osborne's is an Independent local cafe that prides itself on superb service and fantastic food. All our food is prepared daily, from fresh ingredients. We specialize in both vegetarian and non vegetarian food. We have Gluten free, vegan and vegetarian options on our menu as standard. Our cakes are freshly baked and always on show in the window we have gluten free and vegan cakes as well as non dietary cakes. We would love you to visit our cafe and enjoy the experience, either inside or in our covered courtyard with views of the wall.
Reviewed 7 September 2021 via mobile

Great for GF, vegan and any other dietary requirement. Very friendly and has a nice, traditional cafe feel with the benefit of such friendly staff. Definitely put it on your list of places to go.

They’re dog friendly too!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank milifretwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon O, Owner at Osbornes at 68, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you really glad you enjoyed your gf vegan breakfast with us.

KR Osbornes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

Absolutely terrific breakfast in a lovely courtyard. The service was friendly and super efficient- highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank 657richj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon O, Owner at Osbornes at 68, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Thank you for your kind words about our cafe it means a lot. Very pleased the staff were polite and efficient. Really pleased the breakfast was to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

Had won some accolades in the past but I’m wondering if things have slid in recent years.
Polite but not overly welcoming nor friendly staff. With no check up nor asked if I wanted anything else.
My loaded toast was very small on portion size with stingiest sprinkle of black pudding crumb. Bacon was tasty tho.
As always I’ll give another try sometime but disappointed on this occasion

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank tommyb079
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon O, Owner at Osbornes at 68, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

I think we need to break down this review to fully feedback correctly.

1. You ordered the loaded toast and got what you ordered with black pudding crumb. But this was a very small portion? 1 slice of bread 2 slices of bacon and 1 egg of your choice with black pudding crumb on top. The menu does specify what you get and the clue on the black pudding is black pudding crumb, not a slice or a wedge but crumb. So to say the portion was very small is unfair.

2 If the staff were not overly friendly I apologise as this is part of our promise, to be friendly and always ask if all was ok with your visit. As you can see from other reviews of Osborne's we are very customer focused.

3 I do feel your review is not a fair reflection on your visit but a reflection on your choice of food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2021 via mobile

Visited here today after searching for dog friendly eateries, also needed to cater for elderly parents and a vegetarian. Received a lovely warm welcome on arrival and was asked whether we wanted to sit inside or outside in the lovely garden. We chose inside and was shown to our table, the waitress then appeared back with a lovely bowl of water for our dog. The cafe was immaculate with the staff wearing face masks and sanitiser available. The waitress was very patient and had no problem with us ordering drinks to begin with as we were all struggling to choose with the tempting menu. We eventually decided and we weren’t disappointed - we had between us the onion bhaji burger with chips and coleslaw, fish finger sandwich, potato rosti and a goats cheese toasty all delicious and complemented with the choice of drinks available. The icing on the cake was ordering off the dog menu for Nelly - sausage then some peanut biscuits to take away. Would definitely recommend this lovely cafe and would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank joey1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon O, Owner at Osbornes at 68, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2021

So glad your visit to Osbornes went we'll it was a pleasure to host you all...

KR Osbornes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021

We were in York for an Alistair Griffin gig at the Citadel and wanted a place where we could meet with other fans before the show. We booked a table for 10:30am, having told the staff that we may be there all day and didn't know how many would be joining us.
The staff were fantastic - friendly and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble, even when we had to move to a bigger table to get everyone in. Some of our party just had drinks and others had a full meal. The food we had was delicious and great value for money. We ended up staying there until closing time.
Brilliant atmosphere, fantastic food, amazing staff. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank V2708PXannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon O, Owner at Osbornes at 68, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2021

It was great to meet you while you visited for your gig. Glad you all enjoyed your visit. Hope the gig was great too..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osbornes at 68 also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Osbornes at 68? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.