We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Words do not do justice!”
other travellers have booked this property
Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom
Private Outdoor area Hallway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Master Bedroom
Private Outdoor area
Hallway
Dining Room
Dining Area
Kitchen / Family Room
Kitchen / Family Room
Kitchen
Lounge
View from Lounge window
En Suite Shower Room
Single Bedroom
Bathroom
Chill Out Room
View of Outdoor Area from First Floor
Located near Clarence Gardens
Located near Clarence Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
harvey000
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Words do not do justice!”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What wonderful accommodation in a perfect location. We have stayed in many places but goodness me all the reviews are spot on - this is absolutely outstanding. The house is absolutely spotless with many extras and thoughtful touches. The decor is outstanding and the kids loved the 3rd floor den. Julie the owner is welcoming, friendly & helpful, even suppling a lovely welcome gift of wine and chocolate biscuits. It is roughly a 10 min walk to the city centre so the car doesn't have to leave the drive (which is a lovely added bonus) Words honestly don't do justice to this wonderful house. Would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie N
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation and great location”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First class accommodation . Spacious, beautifully decorated in a contemporary style. Julie the owner met us was so helpful. had left coffee, milk , wine , chocolates all unexpected and we were delighted. Great thought and attention has clearly been paid to ensuring the guests are well catered for . The house is a pleasant 10 minute walk to the walls of York. Great location will definitely stay again, recommended it to my sister who stayed and loved it. Julie was an excellent host many thanks

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna E
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous house, 5 star from house, booking, and definitely the Housekeeper Julie!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is beautiful, spotlessly clean, very high spec & totally earns 5 stars all round. Julie greeted us and made us feel welcome immediately, she continued to make sure everything possible was taken care of, she is worth her weight in gold! Compared to other places I have stayed in around the UK this was up there with the best, and enhanced totally by the wonderful job Julie does in taking care of the house and guests. Thank you again Julie.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this house to anyone, location is ideal, and value for money, completely worth every penny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: The week went too quickly!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShellinSL...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well-equipped, perfect location!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at The Light Well! It is beautifully decorated, equipped with everything we could possibly need and in a fantastic location, close to the center, yet quiet and relaxing. Even better, Julie was so welcoming, kind and helpful! It was perfect for our family. I'm not sure I'd recommend it for six adults, since the sofa bed is not a full-size double, but we couldn't have been happier.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottishM...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommend - convenient & top notch”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed here for a week in April and I am very careful when picking rentals and quite fussy about cleanliness. This was the best rental we have stayed and my expectations are quite high. Loved the space and as a family of 4 with 2 teenage sons we were able to spread out after a days sightseeing and relax. Beds so comfy and I was even able to choose the firmness of my pillow from a selection. Lots of little touches and everything you need if you do want to stay in and not go out for a meal. 5 minute walk at most to Gillygate and few minutes more to the Minster. Car pretty much stayed parked up the whole week as you don't need it apart from getting some provisions. Our host Julie was available if we had queries and made some recommendations for dinner without being intrusive. If we come back to York we will definitely stay again. Booked through In York Holidays who were excellent to deal with too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness & modern comfortable furnishings
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing