We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
568
90
26
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
568
90
26
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venetian room honesty bar city centre overlooking the garden four poster bed breakfast was delicious fresh fruit salad on arrival minute walk top floor gave us a map full english spacious room yorkshire breakfast busy road lovely guesthouse biscuits
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 695 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

I stayed at Bishops for 2 nights in June for a birthday celebration with my partner. Upon arrival, the lady on reception greeted us with a big smile and was very friendly, welcoming and helpful, she told us about all the must see attractions and kindly directed us York’s main area and how to get there from the hotel.

The hotel is lovely and well kept, with a very homely feel. Our room was fab, it was clean and everything we needed for a short stay. The bed was one of the comfiest we’ve slept in! Breakfast was lovely and we both enjoyed a full English every morning!

The location may seem a little bit out of the way however it’s only a 10 minute walk to York’s main attractions, which we didn’t mind at all.

The only thing I would change is the breakfast time, I think if I remember rightly it stopped at 9am or 9.30am.. I think that may be a little early for some people, I find that most places serve breakfast until 10.30am.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel to visit in York.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Georgia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborah g, Owner at Bishops Guest Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thank you for reviewing your stay Georgia, I am so pleased you had such a lovey time. I understand and appreciate your comments regarding breakfast times, unfortunately it is difficult for accommodation providers of our size to serve breakfast over such a long time period 8 til 10.30 for example as the amount of staff needed just in case multiple of our 10 rooms came down at the same time just isn't feasible for a 2 and half hour period. Larger hotels often have the longer timescale because they would be physically unable to seat everyone otherwise. We also cook fresh to order as much as possible rather than have prepared food under heat lamps. We are very proud of our breakfasts and its important to us that our guests enjoy them so its great to know you both experienced the Bishops Traditional but if you return I suggest you try our smoked salmon,its my favourite at the moment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Enjoyed a great stay with the family at Bishops last month. Made the booking direct and Deborah made some excellent recommendations regarding the room etc. Upon arrival, the staff member gave us full information of the surrounding areas with a map and 'whats on' guide. The cot & bottle of Prosecco were also in place as requested. The four poster room was nicely decorated, spacious and clean. Large TV in the room with full sat channels available.
It was about a 15 minute walk into town, with only one turning so no chance of getting lost. There were lots of cafes, shops and bars along the way.
The layout for breakfast was very good and the full English breakfast was excellent.
All in all an enjoyable and relaxing stay, will definitely stay there again... thank you to the Bishops team.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Smudge1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborah g, Owner at Bishops Guest Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thanks for the glowing review we love it when our guests have a great time. We take pride in our rooms and breakfast service so its important to us that we meet our guests' expectations We alsoknow how precious family breaks are and we are pleased you chose Bishops for yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Really nice staff, great location and good room. 20 min walk to city centre but on bus route for those not wanting a wee walk in the morning. Would definitely return.

Minor issues, Parking a tad tight, and wifi in room failed to connect (but we never mentioned it to the hosts) as we were out and about more often than not so made no real difference to our stay.

Room Tip: Phone direct if access issues, as most rooms upstairs but there is a room on ground floor.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborah g, Owner at Bishops Guest Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, thank you for your great comments and perfect score; we are really pleased to read that you will stay with us again in the future. I apologise for any difficulties you had with our WiFi, you should definitely have been able to connect in all our bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Very nice and classic B&B. It's a little bit away from the city center but that did not matter as we could have a nice walk on the city wall into town. We were greeted by a very nice woman who gave us a map and circeled the sights, bus stop, walks etc. Our room was in the right wing of the B&B with a separate entrance, the room was great with a seperate bedroom for our 10 year old with a view to the road, and a nice view of the garden from our bedroom. The breakfast was really good. They have a buffet with various items such as jams, cereals and so on, and then you can order eggs, bacon sausages etc cooked to your liking. We had a great stay at Bishop's and we really enjoyed York.

Room Tip: There is a bit of noise from the road so ask for a room with windows towards the garden
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csookf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco g, Owner at Bishops Guest Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Bishops I am so pleased you enjoyed your family holiday. We hope that you will choose tp stay with us again in the future York has so much to offer all ages and is very different in every season

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

This B&B was a great find when only booking two days before. It is absolutely superb in everyway, so clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are excellent and there is a vast choice. Our room was very nice and overlooked the lovely garden at the rear of the property, which is situated just outside York city centre and has private parking and is also close to public transport. We will definitely stay again, when hopefully we will be looked after by the superb staff.

Room Tip: I should imagine all the rooms are excellent as ours was, but the garden facing rooms are quieter on 2nd floor are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Throstles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco g, Owner at Bishops Guest Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we love it when our guests tell us they are are going to return, please share our name with all your friends and don't forget to Book Direct for the best Yorkshire deals!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews