We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,878)
Filter reviews
1,878 results
Traveller rating
495
798
382
132
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
798
382
132
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river view car park excellent location buffet breakfast good size central location secure parking per day room was large biscuits would stay again beans short break within easy walking distance full english lovely room family room
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,878 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for four nights. Lovely river views. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Wednesdays carvery was excellent. Had meals elsewhere other nights. Room was comfy and staff always helpful. Would stay there again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank baz65204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from an overnight stay at The Queens. The location of this hotel is ideal and is set on the River. The rooms were big, clean and very comfortable. We also used the hotel car park which was great and only cost us £13 for 24 hours.

My only negative was the morning of check out the lady on reception was rather rude. She ignored us as we approached and stood at the desk waiting, didn’t acknowledge us for a few minutes and wasn’t very helpful? Reception was really quiet and it was if we were a bit of a hindrance?

I would recommend this hotel as it has been a great find in York.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Whury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We visited York for two night break and stayed at the Queens Hotel, but not in the main hotel, but their Apartments which are located around the corner. The Apartments are well appointed and suited our requirements fine, with the added bonus of on-site parking. One thing to bear in mind though, is that these apartments do not have an elevator, so if you are not good on stairs, they are not for you. We used the hotel for the included breakfast, which was decent, albeit we felt that having to pay for our grand-daughter, who is only six, was a little much, knowing how little children eat. We ate here the first night and the food was well cooked, albeit basic in what was offered and it was quite clear that a great deal of their income, comes from coach parties, of the Senior variety. We did try to get a table on the second night to, but were turned away, with the only thing being on offer, quite late, so we chose to go to the local Fish and Chip shop around the corner, which not only met our needs, but saved us quite a bit and in truth was very tasty and plentiful. We had a major issue with the access to the Internet, as the in-room book advised that they had just up-rated the service, however it was non-existent in the Apartments and very slow in the hotel itself. We did report the issue, but no one ever got back to us, which was disappointing. In today's day and age, there really is no way that any establishment, should have a poor Internet Service, as it is a standard requirement. Overall, we would certainly go back, as the location is superb and hopefully the points we raised will have been addressed.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed just one night the location is great, right by the river Ouse and a very short walk into the centre of York. Our room overlooked the river was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. Secure parking underneath the hotel (at an extra cost) is great you can park there from 11am even though you cannot have your room until 2.30pm. Highly recommend we will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

I stayed here for a 3 night stay as a solo traveller.
The Hotel is in a quiet location, great service and very friendly staff.
The Breakfast and the Dinner is of a good standard with a good choice, Fried eggs and Poached eggs are cooked to order.
The room was clean and plenty of hot water.
If I go to York again I would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tiny0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews